Wayward Sons 2017 credit Tony Mottram

Wayward Sons ‘Ghosts Of Yet To Come’

The album, all-encompassing of each band member’s input and vision, is rock, pure and simple
Lyrical Content
Overall Impact
Reader Rating1 Vote

Debut album due to land for one of the UK’s hottest Rock prospects!

After taking time away from the rock limelight, Toby Jepson is back and he’s accompanied by band of unruly brothers. Now its time to drop the album!

Having spent time working with the likes of Toseland, Saxon, Fastway, The Answer, The Virginmarys, Little Angels and Scottish rock outfit Gun, it’s safe to say Toby has some pretty strong rock credentials. This is abundantly clear when listening to his new guitar riffing creation, Waywards Sons.

The band are made up of Sam Wood (Guitar), Nic Wastell (Bass), Dave Kemp (Keys) and Phil Martini (Drums), and of course Toby (Vocals/Guitar). Experience isn’t short and Toby, the driving force behind this musical monster, has picked his crew well. Drummer Phil was previously in The Quireboys, Tokyo Dragons, and The Union; basest Nick was in Chrome Molly; Guitarist Sam Wood played in Treason Kings, while keyboard player Dave is a long-standing cohort of Jepson’s.

The Wayward Sons, a much-needed addition to the UK rock scene, project a dynamic hard rock vibe, very much present in their debut 10-track album ‘Ghosts Of Yet To Come’.

The album, all-encompassing of each band member’s input and vision, is rock, pure and simple. It’s got every angle of the genre pouring out of its very core and has hints of Sound Garden and Thin Lizzy running though its veins. Solo’s are gifted left, right and center and none more so then that of the track ‘Killing Time’. Although not one of the YouTube picks for the four videos posted to help promote the album, ‘Killing Time’ is surely going to be a fan favourite.

Of the four chosen videos, three currently live with the forth due, ‘Alive’ has to be the one of the album hero’s. The inaugural track to this errant album, ‘Alive’ bursts into your ears with intro worthy to that of Sound Garden, and Toby’s voice is as powerful as front man Chris Cornell. It instantly grabs your attention and pulls you into the wayward sound.

Other tracks from the released singles are “Crush”, a track that would be herald a ballad should one have to be chosen for the album, and ‘Until the End’, a track that can be heard not just on YouTube or download, but also radio station Plant Rock.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

All three of these can be downloaded before the release date of 15th September, giving potential fans the chance to embrace the talent offered by this awesome quintet.

Another to savor, away from the signature tracks, is “Give it Away”. The tracks vibrant riffs and lyrics aid its late 80/90’s feel and Toby once again exercises that vocal range to the max and hits some real high notes, worthy of a theatrical performance. His voice is powerful with strength in range.

As the album filters out with a bluesy feel from the final track ‘Something Wrong’ its easy to say that Jepson has created a solid sound with a solid band, proving that the Waywards Sons mean business when it comes to Hard Rock. Listeners will soon be rushing to see them live.

The band are due to hit the road soon with UFO and Inglorious, covering most parts of the UK. You can see the band at one of the following venues…

Thurs 14th September 2017 – UK, Dorking, Dorking Halls Special Guests To UFO
Fri 15th September 2017 – UK, Holmfirth, Picturedome Special Guests TO UFO
Sat 16th September 2017 – UK, Northampton, Roadmender Special Guests TO UFO
Sat 30th September 2017 – UK, Pontipridd, Uni Arts Centre Special Guests To Inglorious
Sun 1st October 2017 – UK, Southampton, The Brook Special Guests To Inglorious
Sat 7th October 2017 – UK, Bilston, Robin 2 Special Guests To Inglorious
Sun 8th October 2017 – UK, Newcastle, Academy 2 Special Guests To Inglorious
Tues 10th October 2017 – UK, Glasgow, Classic Grand Special Guests To Inglorious
Wed 11th October 2017 – UK, York, Fibbers Special Guests To Inglorious
Thurs 12th October 2017 – UK, Nottingham, Rescue Rooms Special Guests To Inglorious
Fri 20th October 2017 – UK, London, Electric Ballroom Special Guests To Inglorious
Thurs 9th November 2017 – UK, North Wales, Hard Rock Hell. Festival Date

The full track listing for the album is…

  1. Alive
  2. Until the End
  3. Ghost
  4. Don’t Wanna Go
  5. Give It Away
  6. Killing Time
  7. Crush
  8. Be Still
  9. Small Talk
  10. Something Wrong