The Head and the Heart - Let's Be Still - new album
The Head and the Heart - Let's Be Still

Review : The Head and the Heart – ‘Let’s Be Still’

I don’t need to fluff out this review for The Head and the Hearts new album ‘Let’s Be Still’. I certainly don’t need to add bizarre facts about the bands history or even tales of how this album was written in the drummers garage/mums bathroom/nans cellar (delete as appropriate). This album stands out for its content alone. It’s an A-Z of how music should be written, played and produced. Put simply, it is a musical masterpiece.

This review is late but while in most scenarios I would have let it pass and move onto forthcoming releases I felt it would be an injustice not to at least share some of my thoughts regarding this recording. I let Son Lux’s quite unique 2013 release pass by and have felt awful about it ever since.

Let’s Be Still’ is the bands second album (following their self-titled 2011 debut). While there are similarities between the two there does seem to be more maturity throughout. In fact, the 13 tracks could read like a greatest hits album, such is the strength of the song-writing. And while the instrumentation is of the highest order it’s the harmonies that steal the show. They are beautiful and quite haunting at times and help to ensure the entire arrangement works on every level.

If I had to choose stand-out tracks then ’10,000 Weight in Gold’, ‘Cruel’ and the folk-sounding ‘Homecoming Heroes’ were certainly re-played more than others. Each track offers something a little different but at the same time contributes to the piece as a whole. However, with an album of this quality it almost seems a little unfair to overlook the remainder of the music by pin-pointing highlights. It’s a journey from the beginning to end, with each song invoking a different emotion.

This album will no doubt introduce the band to a huge spectrum of new listeners, world-wide. It has already rightfully been critically acclaimed by music journalists, bloggers and fans of this genre but it has legs yet. It is a timeless piece of music that, if you recognise great song-writing, should be an integral part of your collection. And in these days of recession, when you may have to choose your music purchases a little more carefully than in the past, you can be rest assured that this album of musical stories will be money well spent.

The full track-listing for ‘Let’s Be Still’ is as follows…

  1. Homecoming Heroes
  2. Another Story
  3. Springtime
  4. Summertime
  5. Josh McBride
  6. Shake
  7. Cruel
  8. Let’s Be Still
  9. My Friends
  10. 10,000 Weight in Gold
  11. Fire/Fear
  12. These Days are Numbered
  13. Gone


Download: Cruel, 10,000 Weight in Gold, Fire/Fear, Another Story

Rating: 5 out of 5

Stay up to date with all the latest music news, gossip, and reviews from GIGsoup by following us on Twitter and Facebook