Rainbow Kitten Surprise ‘How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’

Rainbow Kitten Surprise
‘How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’ is a masterful, emotional and feel good album
Lyrical Content
Overall Impact

Don’t let the name fool you, Rainbow Kitten Surprise is legit. The five-piece alternative/indie band recently released their first studio album under Elektra records titled, ‘How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’. The North Carolina based band continues with their signature trademark of life-defining lyrics and deep bass – using a mixture of influences from various artists over multiple genres to create their own sound.

RKS opens up their emotional album with ‘Pacific Love’. The intro is only 24 seconds but sets the tone for the whole album. ‘Pacific Love’ lays the foundation for the upcoming themes of falling in and out of love. RKS uses nothing but their voice to open the album.

Their second song on the album, ‘Mission to Mars’ is more of a reminder to us all to shoot for the moon, or in this case, Mars. The song starts out slow with just an electric guitar while the kickdrum joins in perfect union. By the end of the song, the listener goes from toe-tapping to jumping around and screaming at the top of their lungs.

One of the most standout and heartfelt songs on the album comes in the form of ‘Hide’, one of the lead singles. Through a catchy beat and extensive lyrics, the band manages to get the listener to open their hearts to people who hide their sexual identity from others. In a time where LGBT rights are a huge issue, Rainbow Kitten Surprise does a splendid job of confronting a topic in a way they only can. The music video for ‘Hide’ was released a few days after the single. The video directed beautifully by Kyle Thrash shows the hardships and lives LGBT people face in order to be free.

‘It’s Called: Freefall’ is a song that really stands out on the album. The song keeps the listener humming at a low volume before dropping the vocals and rocking out with the instrumentals. The song focuses on the overall theme of falling in love. The transition within the song from folk /alternative to pure untainted country soul is a masterpiece only Rainbow Kitten Surprise could pull off.

Sam Melo, the bands frontman, shows his quickness and slick wordplay on the song ‘Recktify’. The song’s first verse showcases Sam Melo’s rapping style over a drum beat that mimics a southern folk sound. The song begins to slow down after the bridge, bringing back that RKS trademark sound.

‘How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’ is a masterful, emotional and feel good album. Produced by Grammy-nominated producer Jay Joyce and written entirely by lead singer Sam Melo,  ‘How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’ is the perfect blend of folk, alternative, soul, and rock. The album takes you through the process of falling in love and staying in love. Rainbow Kitten Surprise show they have no problem breaking free from the box they were placed inside while still maintaining their soul and carefree spirit.

How to: Friend, Love, Freefall’ is out now via Elektra Records. 

The full tracklist is listed below…

  1. Pacific Love
  2. Mission to Mars
  3. Fever Pitch
  4. It’s Called: Freefall
  5. Holy War
  6. Matchbox
  7. Moody Orange
  8. Hide
  9. When It Lands
  10. Painkillers
  11. Recktify
  12. Possum Queen
  13. Polite Company


Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!