Lyrical Content65
Overall Impact70
Reader Rating0 Votes0
The band seem to be creating music that really works for them, and revisits their classic sound

Embrace’s ‘Love is a Basic Need’, is a solution to anyone craving an alternative rock release. Returning with a new album and an intimate six-date tour, the Yorkshire boys have returned to their finest form yet with an album of classic Embrace-sounding tunes.

Recorded in their own studio and produced by guitarist Richard McNamara, the album focuses on the theme of love throughout. When speaking about the album, frontman Danny McNamara said, “The album is about the realisation that without food or water or shelter you die, but the same is also true of love. We set out to make an album where every song on it would stand up against the best songs we’ve ever written, and I’m pretty confident we’ve done just that.”

Opening with the powerful ‘The Finish Line,’ the delicate build-up of strings and keys leads up to a dynamic choir-backed chorus. As Danny said, “The Finish Line is about how you feel when your worldview is turned upside down, about realising you’ve wasted so much time and about how that makes you want to live life to the full and squeeze the most out of every minute.” It certainly illustrates that, there is a sense of emotional release, and a fierce introduction to the rest of what’s to come.

A standout is ‘Wake Up Call’, with a powerful intro that’s then reeled back to allow space for Danny’s vocals. There’s then a drive forward to reach the mighty chorus. As he proclaims ‘I’m wide awake’ in an epic style. The track ‘Never’ also has the same effect. There’s the method of starting slow to eventually reach a climactic chorus. It’s not a particularly new troupe but it works with the style that the band seem to be going for.

In essence, the band seem to be creating music that really works for them, and revisits their classic sound. While it may not really appeal to a younger audience, this is the kind of album that any Embrace fan would be craving. Embrace provide their listeners with a dynamic album of beautifully crafted layers of guitars and vocals building up to empowering choruses. A solid album from a classic British band.

The full track listing is…

1. The Finish Line
2. Never
3. Wake Up Call
4. Snake Oil
5. Where You Sleeping
6. All That Remains
7. Rabbit Hole
8. Horseshoe In My Glove
9. My Luck Comes In Threes
10. Love Is A Basic Need

Facebook Comments