Victories At Sea 'Everything Forever'- ALBUM REVIEW
Victories At Sea 'Everything Forever'- ALBUM REVIEW

Victories At Sea ‘Everything Forever’- ALBUM REVIEW

This article was written by Simon Bull, a GIGsoup contributor. Edited by Josh Hummerston.

Victories At Sea are a Birmingham based electronic 3-piece yet to hit the heights of other recent successful B-Town bands such as Peace and Swim Deep. ‘Everything Forever’ is their debut album, and is their first release since EP ‘In Memory Of’ in 2013 (Also on Static Caravan Records).

It is an album in 2 parts. The first few tracks are quintessential 80s synth and are reminiscent in parts of A Flock Of Seagulls or Visage, with ‘On Your Own’ in particular using the same opening riff as Erasure‘s ‘Give A Little Respect’. It’s not until after the mid-point, an instrumental track called ‘DMC’, that the sonic direction changes and it becomes very much a more guitar based sound.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

‘Poles Apart’ is much more up tempo in comparison to the previous part of the album, as if the band were lulling you into a false sense of security, before delivering a knock-out blow. Although not the crashing crescendo ending that one would expect, closing track ‘Sirens’, has vocalist JP repeating “Give it all you’ve got” over the top of ascending piano & guitar riffs as they simultaneously build through layers of impressive electronics and heavily effected guitars, proving a fitting end to an album that starts at the opposite end of the spectrum.

It’s a worthy debut LP that has moments of brilliance and glimpses of things to come from this talented trio.

‘Everything Forever’ is out now via Static Caravan Records.

Victories At Sea 'Everything Forever'- ALBUM REVIEW