ALBUM REVIEW : Outfit - ‘Slowness’
ALBUM REVIEW : Outfit - ‘Slowness’

ALBUM REVIEW : Outfit – ‘Slowness’

This ‘Outfit’ review was written by Max Litchfield, a GIGsoup contributor.

4*Liverpudlian five-piece ‘Outfit’ are creating somewhat of a buzz in the music industry and their latest release ‘Slowness’, an emotional yet relaxing LP, would appear to confirm what all this excitement is about.

The band displays a sense of methodic thought and consideration in their music and this is prevalent throughout ‘Slowness’ – with every track intricately written and then carefully constructed.

The opener track on ‘Slowness’ completely identifies with this ethos. ‘New Air’ is a beautiful, airy track with a slow piano eventually building to a more dance orientated middle. While not completely unique in its make-up it does offer a sense of what is to come and is a wonderful introduction.

The album offers an overriding sense of mindfulness and pondering throughout. This palpable contemplation is heard through the combination of reserved lyrics and voice of lead singer Thomas Gorton but mixed with sometimes ornate instrumentation.

By the halfway point of the album there is a definite sense of melancholy. The lyric-less track ‘Wind or Vertigo’ exemplifies the strong emotional pull of the album. A gloomy guitar and piano mix, tread alongside one another slowly, note-by-note whilst swirling synth sounds envelop the background of the track giving it a real substantial poignancy. However, from this point forwards the darker themes really do take over.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

‘Genderless’ is the first track where we hear a real sense of chaos and menace,   while ‘Framed’ offers emotional vocals and lyrics. The albums climax finishes with its longest offering. ‘Swam Out’ mirrors the LP’s opening track enticing the listener with hushed vocals before the bellowing electronic beats return for a perfect reflective experience. The whole experience of the final track is a breathtaking one and bring the proceedings to a close with real aplomb.

Although there is an argument for a certain sense of repetition and similarity throughout ‘Slowness’ the band have offered the listener something substantial and clearly that is vitally important in music. The album benefits hugely from this idea of balance, at times delivering hugely atmospheric emotional songs whilst instilling a clear idea of relaxation and most importantly contemplation and longing. ‘Slowness’ provides all these feelings in one LP and it is undisputedly an evocative and satisfying release.

‘Slowness’ is out now on Memphis Industries

The full track-listing for ‘Slowness’ is as follows…

‘New Air’


‘Smart Thing’


‘Happy Birthday’

‘Wind or Vertigo’



‘On the Water On the Way’

‘Cold Light Home’

‘Swam Out’

GIGsoup - Buy Tickets