oofj music
oofj band

ALBUM REVIEW : OOFJ – ‘Acute Feast’

This ‘OOFJ’ review was written by Lauren Martin, a GIGsoup contributor.

Euphoric LA-based duo OOFJ (aka Jens Bjørnkjær and Katherine Mills-Rymer), return with their enchanting new album ‘Acute Feast’ (out now on Fake Diamond Records) – a complete utopia for fans of all things electronica.

The follow up to 2013’s ‘Disco to Die For’ this new material is dripping with authentic glamour and a nostalgic cinematic sound reminiscent to that of an early 60’s movie (spies, cocktails, seduction and a sprinkling of lust for good measure). It’s a clever mix of new and old as violins and synths combine to produce genuine moments of beauty on the opening two tracks (‘You’re always good’ and ‘I FORGIVE YOU’).

Mills-Rymer’s incredible vocals take centre-stage there-after, with the instrumentation merely a bit-part in the proceedings as the wonderful haunting high notes captivate and astound throughout.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/200653486″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

There is a prominent passionate vibe throughout tracks such as ‘Cliffdive’, ‘Snakehips’ and ‘Totally’ with each containing an un-mistakable seductiveness; no doubt due to the relationship shared between the duo. The air of romanticism within the ten tracks is at times breath-taking and offers the listener the opportunity to withdraw from their current place and into one of fantasy and amorous make-believe.

There is an intensity and altogether different presence in ‘Sailor’. Its eerie and deep resonance offers something different from the aforementioned moments of passion. The introduction of saxophones further enhances the duos desire to offer experimentation but without taking too many unnecessary risks. However, the best is saved until last with ‘Stephen Says’ introducing a wonderful classical guitar and symphonic violins to bring the curtain down on this cinematic-esque ode.

‘Acute Feast’ is out now on Fake Diamond Records.

The full track-listing for ‘Acute Feast’ is as follows…

‘You’re Always Good’

‘I Forgive You’


‘Don’t Look’






‘Stephen Says’

GIGsoup - Buy Tickets