Jonathan Boulet presents his European debut ‘Gubba’ for release on Popfrenzy/Caroline on August 25th.
Jonathan Boulet - 'Gubba' (Aug 25th, Popfrenzy/ Caroline)

ALBUM REVIEW : Jonathan Boulet – ‘Gubba’

Something is very, very different. I’ve awoken in a parallel universe where nothing is at it seems. I’ve just started to listen to the new Jonathan Boulet LP and in place of the usual indie-pop are 14 tracks of pulsating ‘Black Rebel  Motorcycle Club’ rock. I like it … I’m staying here.

‘Gubba’ could not be any more different from the artists previous 2009 self-titled LP and its 2012 follow up ‘We Keep the Beat, Found the Sound, See the Need, Start the Heart’. The pop elements are there but are incased in a dark, hard shell of garage-rock. The change is remarkable but is definite progress from the likes of ‘This Song is Called Ragged’ and ‘You’re a Animal’.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

‘Gubba’ comes after Boulet relocated to Germany, from his native Australia, and was self-produced. The self-production aspect may certainly have something to do with this huge change of direction. Without fellow studio members looking over Boulet’s shoulder the indie-pop has been tossed out of the nearest window and he has been able to re-invent himself into this new rock mold. Every track on ‘Gubba’ has this new stamp on it, and there is nothing here to indicate that Boulet would have once toured with genre-similar artists such as Mumford & Sons, Tame Impala, Kate Nash.

‘Hold it Down’, the first single from the LP, should certainly have been an indication of things to come. However, the album gets darker and heavier as it progresses. ‘Is Anybody Dooming?’ is a slow, somber and brooding track that merely acts as an appetizer for ‘BOG’. ‘Traveller’ is a little lighter and has wonderful screeching guitars alongside manic drums. It stands out on the LP

However, if I had one criticism it would be that there are simply not enough stand-out tracks. The album is relentless and it doesn’t give the listener the opportunity to pull anything out of it that sticks. That said, it is a wonderful release that justifies the artists decision for change.

Jonathan Boulet ‘Gubba’ lands on the August 25th 2014, Popfrenzy/ Carloline.

The track-listing for Jonathan Boulet’s ‘Gubba’ is as follows…

01. Don’t Call Me Champ
02. Hold It Down
03. Creeper
04. Is Anybody Dooming?
05. You’re A Man
06. Lipshitz
07. Traveller
08. BOG
09. Set It Off
10. Fuddy Duddy
11. Derros
12. Strut King
13. Alright
14. High Five Guy

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook