In-Flight Safety Canadians return with new Single ‘ANIMALS’
In-Flight Safety return with new album 'Conversationalist'

ALBUM REVIEW : In-Flight Safety “Conversationalist”

A couple of weeks ago In-Flight Safety debuted their new track, ‘Animals’, and we instantly made it Track of the Day at GIGsoup. We even dared to suggest that the release maybe the catchiest indie-pop track of 2014. And while we salivated over the wonderful melodic chorus and it’s general feel-good factor we waited, quite impatiently, for the remaining 9 tracks that would make up the bands third album ‘Conversationalist’.

‘Conversationalist’ lands in the UK on September 22nd with Conehead and then in the US on October 14th with Ooh La La Records. John Mullane and Glen Nicholson certainly haven’t rushed this release. Previous LP ‘We Are an Empire, My Dear’ landed back in 2009 and the duo have since focussed on film scores and studying architecture (who says the music industry is all sex, drugs and rock n’roll?)

However, the un-hurried approach to the new project has certainly paid dividends as we’re presented with an album that has managed to produce an above average quota of honest, well written and memorable tracks. Previously mentioned ‘Animals’ certainly stands head and shoulders above its bed-mates. It’s a faultless piece of song-writing that simply does not diminish, even after multiple listens.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

‘Stockholm’ also contains it’s predecessors trademark chorus and is cleverly mixed with atmospheric synths and mesmerising strings. ‘Destroy’ continues in the same vein and picks up the pace to another level altogether. There are real elements of Bombay Bicycle Club and Doves here and while In-Flight Safety’s sound may not be completely unique you have to acknowledge the strong song-writing.

‘Blue Flares’ and ‘Caution Horses’ are the only real moments of disappointment on the LP. Both tracks simply don’t contain the like-ability of the other 8, and more worryingly could easily be mistaken for something plucked from a Coldplay album.

Thankfully the album finishes with the beautiful ‘Firestarters’ and one again everything seems good in the world. It’s a well produced track that intwines hushed harmonies and strings but cleverly ends with a fist-punching crescendo.

Listen to ‘Animals’ above. The full track-listing for ‘Conversationalist’ is as follows…

1. Before We Were Animals

2. Animals

3. Blue Flares

4. Stockholm

5. Destroy

6. Caution Horses

7. Tie a String

8. Crowd

9. Fight Night

10. Firestarters


In-Flight Safety are also playing a number of European dates…

September 18th to 20th 2014 – Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg

September 24th 2014 – Bedroom Bar, London

September 25th 2014 – Secret Show, London

September 26th 2014 – The Nest, London

September 27th 2014 – Bungalows & Bears, Sheffield

September 29th 2014 – Oporto, Leeds

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook