The Death of Pop – ‘Runts’
The Death of Pop – ‘Runts’

ALBUM REVIEW : The Death of Pop – ‘Runts’

This ‘The Death of Pop’ review was written by Nick Roseblade, a GIGsoup contributor.

‘The Death of Pop’ constantly releases music that makes me smile. I can’t really work out how they do it. Probably it’s a combination of beautiful melodies buried under the noise of tortured guitars and slice of life lyrics. New album ‘Runts’ is chocked full of all of these things, plus a lot more.

The track listing should be familiar to any fan of the band, as ten of the tracks were released on last year’s ‘Two Thousand and Thirteen’ compilation. These ten tracks have been extensively re-mastered and, not getting into techie territory, they sound totally different from their original incarnations. There is an urgency that was missing from the original. The remaining four tracks are brand new. ‘Can’t Be Blame’, ‘When We’re Awake’ and ‘Keep Me Guessing’ all previously unreleased, the last track is the original four track demo for ‘Kiss Me Quickly (Kill Me)’.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

What ‘The Death of Pop’ have successfully done with the new songs on ‘Runts’ is taken their original sound, but added a melancholic eighties vibe to them. It shows that they are capable of touching the heart strings as well thrashing about.

The album is limited to 100 CD’s, so get in there now or have to trawl record fares for a copy. A digital release is also available.

‘Runts’ is out now on Discos de Kirlian

The full track-listing for ‘Runts’ is as follows…


‘Don’t Hang Around’

‘Kind of Loving’

‘Girl I Can’t Forget’

‘Let Me Drown’

‘I’m Really Into Sally’


‘Sun In My Eyes’

‘Tell Me My Name’


‘Can’t Blame Me’

‘When We’re Awake’

Keep Me Guessing’

‘Kiss Me’

GIGsoup - Buy Tickets

The Death of Pop – ‘Runts’