Aris Athanatos

Greek band Strawberry Pills have announced their debut full-length called “Murder to a Beat”, which comes out on October 30 via Inner Ear Records and shared the first single “Porcelain Face”.

The gothy synth duo from Athens (consisting of Valisia Odell and Antonis Konstantaras) explore the full spectrum of the dark sound and create tracks inspired mainly by the 80’s minimal movement and post punk, with a few electric and goth elements added.
The group’s upcoming debut album is heavily influenced by everyday life in the city of Athens, social issues and of course, the violent turns that love and romance can take.

Antonis says about the song: “Love and hate walk holding hands in the dystopian playground that is the basement of a maniac. “Porcelain Face” is (in our mind) an audio horror film set in the ’70’s and we treat it that way. It’s narrated by the perpetrator while the victim is caught in his/her web.  What happens next? We don’t know, or do we?”

The album title is inspired by the queen of crime, Agatha Christie. The idea is that right before a live performance Strawberry Pills were poisoned, but by whom? Who of all of their songs protagonists did it…?

“Murder To A Beat” combines elements of fiction, horror, death and romance. Everything is pervaded by darkness, mystery, cynicism and enigma. Massively inspired by various forms of art. From film noir and crime fiction to the art movement of symbolism (Gustave Moreau) and photography. For example “Voyeur”, the opening track of the album, is an ode to Guy Bourdin’s voyeuristic photography while “Porcelain Face” is about an alluring femme fatale.

Sonically, with this album Strawberry Pills aim for a fresh dark sound while paying homage to the ’80’s.

The track listing for Murder to a Beat is ...

1. The Voyeur 03:58
2. Private Nightmare 03:23
3. Verbal Suicide 03:47
4. Enter the Void 03:12
5. Dreams 03:45
6. Porcelain Face 03:40
7. Icarus 02:44
8. Set to Rise Again 02:35

You can find more information about Strawberry Pills at...

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!