Roger Gallegos


Dallas singer-songwriter releases 5-tracks of fresh indie-pop

Following a run of snappy single releases, widespread press & radio acclaim and half a million Spotify streams already this year, fast-rising singer-songwriter Alex O’aiza releases his debut EP today.

The 5 songs on the Out Of My Mind EP showcase a deft command of catchy pop hooks and electrifying indie-rock alongside searching lyrics borne out of real adversity and resilience, and announce the Dallas-based Mexican-American artist as a major new talent.

The EP was created and recorded last year, during the most vulnerable and darkest times of O’aiza’s life. In late 2018 O’aiza’s father was apprehended by ICE (Immigration Customs Enforcement Agency), ripped apart from his family and ultimately deported back to Mexico – forcing the young songwriter to step up and fill his fathers’ shoes in the family.

These events pushed O’aiza and his family to the limit and led him into economic, mental & spiritual struggles. The uncertainty of it all led the talented musician to seek help from veteran producers/artists Austin Bello & Caleb Turman from celebrated pop-punk band Forever The Sickest Kids, along with talented young producer/engineer Grant Thompson. With their production guidance to flesh out his melodic ideas and lyrical inspiration, O’aiza was able to channel his tragic reality into buzzy alt-pop songs and pulsating indie-rock anthems with an urgent communal energy. At the start of 2020, O’aiza signed to UK independent label Saint In The City Records and began releasing tracks from the EP.

The singles Out Of My Mind, Hazy and Lifeline quickly gained radio support from KXT Texas, Idobi Radio, Alt 103.7 FM and XS Manchester Radio, were acclaimed by tastemakers at Alt Press, XS Noize and Stereoboard and O’aiza smashed through the half million stream barrier in just a few months.

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!