Young Culture Debuts “21 Days” on Billboard; Announces New EP “(This Is) Heaven”

Pop rock band Young Culture is thrilled to share “21 Days,” streaming now exclusively on Billboard. The song comes from the band’s forthcoming EP and Equal Vision Records debut, (This Is) Heaven, out January 18th, 2019. The EP also features “Drift,” a previously released single co-produced by Derek DiScanio (State Champs) and Sam Guiana (Seaway, Coldfront).

Writing this song was a perfect opportunity to take a dark situation and make it into something beautiful. I guess you could say that’s the theme for the new EP, which is why we felt ’21 Days’ was a perfect song to release at this time,” shares lead singer Alex Magnan. “We’re so grateful to the people who take time to check out our music as well as our fans who’ve been there since day one. This is just the beginning, we promise. There is so much more ahead.

Young Culture is currently on tour with fellow New Yorkers Locals Only. They will also be joining State Champs for their annual holiday shows on December 28th and 29th. For a full list of shows, please see below or visit

Albany-based Young Culture take a unique route to clear the creative cobwebs: they make hip-hop style mixtapes. Formed by friends Alex Magnan (vocals) and Gabe Pietrafesa (guitar), Young Culture put out their debut album, You, in 2016, followed by a five-track EP called Blue. The former had a song, “Bedroom Floor” that featured Derek DiScanio from State Champs – a fellow Albany band – on backing vocals. The latter was co-produced by him and Seth Henderson, who’s worked with the likes of Real Friends, Knuckle Puck and Sleep On It.

Young Culture – completed by guitarist Troy Burchett and drummer Nick Cavin – toured those songs and built a solid following, which remains strong. But instead of working on new material for the band, the pair began to experiment. Pietrafesa sent Magnan beats so he could write lyrics over them, just to keep their creative juices flowing.

A complete 180 to the music Young Culture had made previously, the band released them as a mixtape under the abbreviated moniker YC. The songs served as an important writing exercise for the pair to sharpen their skills when it came back round to writing ‘real’ Young Culture songs.

That influence is evident in songs like “Drift”, which not only redefined who Young Culture is but also reshaped the perimeters of pop-punk. Though it should be noted that they’re very wary of being confined to just that genre. As they should be, because there are many more layers to this band.

2018 ushered in a brand new phase of Young Culture’s existence, evident in latest single “21 Days” as well as the rest of (This Is) Heaven. They might be just 20 years old, but Pietrafesa and Magnan’s attitude and songwriting ability display a maturity beyond their years. While this isn’t an entirely new beginning, it marks the start of something that’s thoroughly unique, electrifying and engaging.

[the_ad id=”82854″]

Young Culture will release (This Is) Heaven on January 18th, 2019 via Equal Vision Records. To pre-order, please visit:

Upcoming Tour Dates:

12/5 – Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbits *

12/6 – Ocala, FL @ Alchemy Ballroom *

12/7 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) *

12/8 – Nashville, TN @ Rocketown *

12/20 – Toronto, ON @ Opera House +

12/28 – Asbury Park, NJ @ House of Independents #

12/29 – Clifton Park, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall #

    • w/Locals Only
    • w/Counterparts

– w/State Champs