Upside Out, a new EP from OK Go, will be released on June 17 by Paracadute

‘Upside Out’, OK Go’s new EP, set for release on June 17th 2014

‘Upside Out’, a new EP from OK Go, will be released on June 17 by Paracadute. The collection features four original songs from the Grammy-winning band, including the bittersweet “The Writing’s On The Wall,” which can be heard in The Amazing Spider-Man 2.

The EP’s four tracks were pulled from the band’s sessions for its forthcoming studio album, Hungry Ghosts. “The Writing’s On The Wall,” “Turn Up The Radio” and “The One Moment” were recorded in upstate New York with Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT, Tame Impala), who produced OK Go’s Of the Blue Colour of the Sky (2010) and the 2011 live collection 180/365.

‘Hungry Ghosts’, OK Go’s first studio album in four years, will be released in the fall of 2014. This off-the-cuff clip whittles the making of ‘Hungry Ghosts’ down to a scant two minutes yet conveys the album’s broad sonic scope.  

We don’t have a regular writing routine,” says singer Damian Kulash. “It’s more of a whatever-it-takes hunt for those songs that are just beyond our conscious grasp – the ones with all the feeling in them. It’s like trying to scratch an itch in your brain, trying to reach those songs – like trying to grab something in your peripheral vision. So we go at them from a million angles and we wind up with a lot of disparate influences colliding. This album has moments of Aphex Twin bumping into INXS, and New Order piled on the Jackson 5. And as unlikely as those combinations are, it’s the closest thing we’ve made, so far, to the music playing in our own minds.

EP Track Listing – Upside Out …

Turn Up The Radio

The Writing’s On The Wall

I Won’t Let You Down

The One Moment

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook