Chilean psych duo The Holydrug Couple have just shared the third helping from their new album ‘Hyper Super Mega’, due for release on September 14th (digital) and September 28th (CD & vinyl) via Sacred Bones.

Forever End is an uplifting, dreamy number, with looping synths driven by hypnotic thumping bass lines and swirling ethereal vocals.

Speaking about the track Ives Sepúlveda Minho says: The song takes inspiration from a few different things and the vocals sort of tell two sides of a story. The two voices come and go as if they were different characters. For me, I have two characters inside myself, you know, there’s the one when you’re thinking and talking inside of your head and there’s more than one of yourself who’s repeating some things and adding something else… It’s a song about dreams, inside of your head and outside of your head.”

Following the release and surrounding tours of their second album, 2015’s ‘Moonlust’ (Sacred Bones), Ives Sepúlveda Minho and Manuel Parra found themselves back at home in Santiago, Chile, feeling directionless and listless. Amidst these feelings of post-tour weariness, the words “Hyper”“Super” and “Mega” struck a chord – terms with origins so steeped in history and mythology, which have come to represent stark superlatives of consumerism. Hypercapitalism, hypermarket, hyperspace, hyperactive, hyperlink, megabyte, megabuck, megalomania, megastorm, megaplex, superhighway, superhero, supermodel, supersize… “It seemed that the scale of everything over-exaggerates human capacity and time Ives notes.

So, the duo immersed themselves in these feelings and started to build the foundations of their new record. Amidst eleven tracks of perfectly-formed, heady psych-pop‘Hyper Super Mega’ speaks of immediacy, internet and social media, consumption, love and a comfortable despair at the state of the planet. It tells of a world over-connected through cell phones and information, whilst hinting at the place of occult language and imagery in an attempt to convene different and unknown places, or places that are open to interpretation.

[the_ad id=”82854″]

Sonically, if ‘Hyper Super Mega’ feels, in places, like a classic pop record, that’s because Sepúlveda and Parra spent much of the recording process thinking, too, about the classic pop records of the ’60s and ’70s. Masterpieces by bands like The Beatles, The Beach Boys, and Fleetwood Mac were all reference points, not always explicitly in sound, but certainly in spirit. The duo approached the mythos of the “classic album” from their own inimitable perspective, hoping to make a record that felt authentically like The Holydrug Couple that might fit into the same canon. Overall, ‘Hyper Super Mega’ is a capsule history of The Holydrug Couple, incorporating a decade of experience recording, touring the world, and absorbing the sights and sounds of their native Chile.

‘Hyper Super Mega’ track list:
1. Hyper Super Mega
2. Waterfalls (YouTube)
3. Forever End (YouTube)
4. Ikebana Telephone Line
5. Lucifer’s Coat
6. I’ll Only Say This (YouTube | Bandcamp)
7. Easy
8. Chevalier Soda
9. Hotel Cache
10. Western Shade
11. Mercury Lake

The Holydrug Couple tour dates:
17 Nov – NL – Amsterdam – Cinetol
18 Nov – UK – Brighton – Green Door Store
19 Nov – UK – Manchester – Now Wave
20 Nov – UK – London – The Lexington

21 Nov – FR – Paris – Point FMR
23 Nov – CH – Zurich – Exil
24 Nov – CH – Bulle – Ebullition
25 Nov – DE – Cologne – Bumann & Sohn
26 Nov – DE – Hamburg – Hafenklang
27 Nov – DE – Berlin – Urban Spree
28 Nov – DK – Copenhagen – Loppen
29 Nov – NO – Oslo – Revolver
30 Nov – SE – Stockholm    – Melodymaker
01 Dec – SE – Malmo – Plan B

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!