Reef unveil new video for ‘My Sweet Love’

Reef have unveiled the video for their Radio 2 playlisted new single ‘My Sweet Love”, which features a guest vocal from Sheryl Crow. ‘My Sweet Love’ is taken from ‘Revelation’, Reef’s first new studio album in 18 years, due for release on May 4th on earMUSIC.

Shot in a disused barn in Bruton, Somerset, close to where Reef rehearse, the video was directed by Heidi Greensmith, who has previously directed videos for Paul Weller, Bernard Butler and Fatboy Slim. She also directed the 2015 film ‘Winter’ staring Tommy Flanagan from ‘Sons of Anarchy’ in his first lead film role.

Also available to stream now is the album’s title track ‘Revelation’, a balls-to-the-wall rock’n’roll anthem that evokes AC/DC at their magisterial best, from Gary Stringer’s throaty roar to Wood’s head-banging riffs.

‘Revelation’ is the revitalized West Country quartet’s first studio album since 2000’s ‘Getaway’, their first with new guitarist Jesse Wood, and their first with new label earMUSIC, Europe’s premier rock label. ‘Revelation’ was recorded in Ireland and has been produced by long-time collaborator George Drakoulias (The Black Crowes, Primal Scream, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers).

In 2016, Reef returned with their first single since 2003, ‘How I Got Over’, which was A-Listed at Radio 2 and saw the band perform live on Chris Evans’ radio show and on The One Show on BBC1. Reef were personally invited by Chris Martin to support Coldplay at Wembley Stadium, and also released their live album ‘Reef: Live At St Ives’, recorded over two sold-out nights at St Ives Guildhall 

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Reef formed in 1993 and were quickly signed to Sony imprint S2. They released nine Top 40 singles – most famously ‘Place Your Hands’ – and four studio albums, including 1996’s platinum-selling No.1 album ‘Glow’, plus greatest hits album ‘Together’ before disbanding in 2003. Their hiatus came to an end in 2010, when they were tempted into reuniting for a short tour. In 2014 Jesse Wood, formerly of the Ronnie Wood band/Faces/Red Racer, replaced original guitarist Kenwyn House after he amicably left the band to pursue other projects. 

Reef: Gary Stringer (vocals), Jack Bessant (bass), Jesse Wood (lead guitar), Dominic Greensmith (drums)

Reef ‘Revelation’, track list is as follows..

My Sweet Love (featuring Sheryl Crow)
How I Got Over
Don’t Go Changing Your Mind
Precious Metal
Just Feel Love
Ball And Chain
First Mistake
Darling Be Home Soon
Lone Rider
Like A Ship (Without A Sail)

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

You can see Reef live at one of the bands following May tour dates…

4             Academy, Manchester (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
5             Digbeth Arena, Birmingham (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
6             Eventim Apollo, London (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
10           Sub89, Reading
11           Concorde 2, Brighton
12           Waterfront, Norwich
18           Liquid Rooms, Edinburgh
19           O2 Academy, Glasgow (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
20           O2 Academy, Newcastle (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
24           O2 Academy, Leeds (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
25           Motion, Bristol (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
26           Guildhall, Portsmouth (Britrock Must Be Destroyed! Tour)
27           LeeStock Music Festival, Suffolk
31           Green Room, The Academy, Dublin