Johnny Marr has announced that his third solo studio album, ‘Call The Comet’, will be released on June 15th. The first single from the album, ‘The Tracers’, is available now on iTunes and Spotify.

The former Smiths guitarist has had a prolific career since the band’s dissolution in 1987, playing with Electronic, Talking Heads, The Pretenders, The The, Modest Mouse and The Cribs. His debut solo album, ‘The Messenger’, was released in 2013 and peaked at number 10 in the UK album charts. This was followed by ‘Playland’ in 2014, which peaked at number 9. ‘Call The Comet’ marks Marr’s first studio album in four years, due in part to the publication of his autobiography, ‘Set The Boy Free’, in 2016.

Marr is performing at a limited number of venues in Europe and North America prior to the album’s release. The dates are as follows:


12th May: Button Factory (Dublin, Ireland)
14th May: Brudenell Social Club (Leeds, England)
16th May: Islington Assembly Hall (London, England)
18th May: Nalen (Stockholm, Sweden)
19th May: Vega (Copenhagen, Denmark)
20th May: Paradiso Noord (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
21st May: Festsaal Kreuzberg (Berlin, Germany)
24th May: La Gaîté Lyrique (Paris, France)

North America:

30th May: Velvet Underground (Toronto, Canada)
31st May: Gramercy Theatre (New York, USA)
2nd June: August Hall (San Francisco, USA)
5th June: Teragram Ballroom (Los Angeles, USA)

Tickets are allocated via ballot which can be entered here.

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. ‘Rise’
  2. ‘The Tracers’
  3. ‘Hey Angel’
  4. ‘Hi Hello’
  5. ‘New Dominions’
  6. ‘Day In Day Out’
  7. ‘Walk Into The Sea’
  8. ‘Bug’
  9. ‘Actor Attractor’
  10. ‘Spiral Cities’
  11. ‘My Eternal’
  12. ‘A Different Gun’

‘Spiral Cities’ will be familiar to some fans, as it has been included in several of Marr’s setlists since 2015. Further tracks are set to be released ahead of June 15th. The album is available for preorder on iTunes now.

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!