The Smiths

The Smiths announce deluxe reissue of ‘The Queen is Dead’

Originally released in 1986 to critical acclaim, the album ‘The Queen is Dead’ is getting a deluxe reissue out October 20th. This record was the third LP by the British rock outfit, The Smiths, and has consistently been listed in the best albums to have been released in the ’80s, especially from the then-emerging new wave movement. The remastered 1986 LP will include demos, remastered B-sides, a never released live album, and Derek Jarman’s ‘The Queen is Dead’ film on DVD.

The Queen Is Dead, deluxe and reissued. 20.10.17

Posted by The Smiths on Thursday, 20 July 2017

The reissue is available for preorder in the three formats: a two CD box set, a CD/DVD set, and vinyl edition. For the CD box set, the first disc features a fully-restored version of ‘The Queen Is Dead’, while the second disc features a number of b-sides and rarities. In addition, the live album, which was recorded on their last tour at the Great Woods Center for the Performing Arts in Boston on August 5 1986, will be incorporated into the box set of their deluxe reissue.

Derek Jarman’s film, ‘The Queen is Dead’, is a short exploration of three songs, ‘The Queen is Dead’, ‘There is a Light that Never Goes Out’ and ‘Panic’. With The Smiths music and Jarman’s artistic vision, the film explores inner city angst, urban decay, alienation, cute hairstyles, and lots of hand held camera work. The result from the powerful lyrics and melodies by Morrissey and Marr complement Jarman’s expressive images and add to the album beautifully.

Preorder is available here on the website.

Disc 1

01 “The Queen Is Dead” (2017 Master)

02 “Frankly, Mr. Shankly” (2017 Master)

03 “I Know It’s Over” (2017 Master)

04 “Never Had No One Ever” (2017 Master)

05 “Cemetery Gates” (2017 Master)

06 “Bigmouth Strikes Again” (2017 Master)

07 “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side” (2017 Master)

08 “Vicar In a Tutu” (2017 Master)

09 “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” (2017 Master)

10 “Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others” (2017 Master)

Disc 2

01 “The Queen Is Dead” (Full Version)

02 “Frankly, Mr. Shankly” (Demo)

03 “I Know It’s Over” (Demo)

04 “Never Had No One Ever” (Demo)

05 “Cemetery Gates” (Demo)

06 “Bigmouth Strikes Again” (Demo)

07 “Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others” (Demo)

08 “The Boy With the Thorn In His Side” (Demo Mix)

09 “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” (Take 1)

10 “Rubber Ring” (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]

11 “Asleep” (Single B-Side) [2017 Remaster]

12 “Money Changes Everything” (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]

13 “Unloveable” (Single B-Side) [2017 Master]