Red Hot Chili Peppers’ fans don’t need to wait too long until they hear the band’s new record. It has been announced that the album will be called ‘The Getaway’and will be released on June 17.

The band’s first record since 2011’s ‘I’m With You’ has been produced by Danger Mouse and mixed by Radiohead’s Nigel Godrich. Bassist Flea had originally stated that the band were ‘heading into a new era’, telling Q about the sound of the new material: ‘It’s new and different but without sacrificing the good bits of us. There are some songs we already had, and some new ones too. I can’t wait to play it live.’

Meanwhile, the first new song to be heard is called ‘Dark Necessities’ and can be heard above.

The track listing for ‘The Getaway’ is as follows:

The Getaway’
‘Dark Necessities’
‘We Turn Red’
‘The Longest Wave’
‘Goodbye Angels’
‘Sick Love’
‘Go Robot’
‘Feasting on the Flowers’
‘This Ticonderoga’
‘The Hunter’
‘Dreams of a Samurai’

Red Hot Chili Peppers have a big summer ahead having been confirmed to headline a number of festivals including Reading & Leeds, T in the Park and Lollapalooza.

This Red Hot Chili Peppers article was written by Suzanne Oswald, a GIGsoup contributor. 

Facebook Comments