Nick Cave and Laura Mvula among 2017 Ivor Novello nominees

Nick Cave, Laura Mvula and A$AP Rocky are among the artists who have been honoured with a nomination at this years Ivor Novello awards, recognizing achievements in song writing and composition.

The awards, named for lauded Welsh composer and songwriter Ivor Novello, have been presented since 1955 by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors.
Nick Cave’s Skeleton Tree, a record whose recording process was irreparably and hauntingly diverted by the death of Cave’s teenage son during production, was honoured in the Album category, along with the second album from Birmingham songstress Laura Mvula. Despite this evident critical success, Mvula was swiftly dropped by Sony a few months previously.

Michael Kiwanuka was awarded in two categories – including Best Album for his sophomore effort, Love and Hate’, and for his writing contribution to ‘Black Man in a White World’ a nomination he shares with Dean ‘Inflo’ Cover.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

See below list for all nominations.

Best Song Musically and Lyrically (This award recognises excellence in songwriting craft; with particular reference to melody, lyrics, harmony and structure)

Black Man in a White World’ – Written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Michael Kiwanuka
‘Overcome’ – Written by Laura Mvula and Nile Rodgers
Telomere’ – Written by Blaine Harrison and Henry Harrison (Mystery Jets)

Best Contemporary Song (This award recognises outstanding originality in songwriting; songs which capture the moment and/or explore the boundaries of contemporary music)

‘Love$ick’ – Written by A$AP Rocky and Mura Masa
‘Man’ – Written by Skepta and Josh Homme (Skepta)
‘Sexual’ – Written by Dyo, NEIKED and Elina Stridh (Performed by NEIKED ft Dyo)

Album Award – recognising exceptional songwriting and consistency across an album as a whole

‘Love & Hate’ – Written by Brian Burton, Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Michael Kiwanuka (Michael Kiwanuka)
Skeleton Tree’ – Written by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds)
The Dreaming Room’ – Written by Laura Mvula

PRS for Music Most Performed Work – credits the work which received the most broadcast, online and general performances in the UK in 2016. It is compiled by The Ivors sponsor, PRS for Music)

‘Adventure of a Lifetime’ – Written by Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Chris Martin (Coldplay)
‘Hymn for the Weekend’ – Written by Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Chris Martin (Coldplay)
‘When We Were Young’ – Written by Adele Adkins and Tobias Jesso Jr

Best Original Film Score – recognising outstanding composition for a feature film and how well the music enhances the visual content.

‘High-Rise’ – Composed by Clint Mansell
Kubo and the Two Strings’ – Composed by Dario Marianelli
‘My Scientology Movie’ – Composed by Dan Jones

Best Television Soundtrack – recognising outstanding composition for a television programme and how well the music enhances the visual content

The Collection’ – Composed by Dominik Scherrer
‘The Witness for the Prosecution’ – Composed by Paul Englishby
‘War and Peace’ – Composed by Martin Phipps

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!