Yes We Mystic Release New Single ‘Young Evil’ / Watch The Video Now

Yes We Mystic release the 2nd single from their forthcoming album ‘Ten Seated Figures’. ‘Young Evil’ is a disorienting, perturbed song telling the story of a young Evel Knievel. The single is accompanied by a bizarre music video that takes the band into bold new territory – featuring a choreographed dance which guitarist and vocalist Adam Fuhr practiced for three months.

“In music, in art, what the creator asserts is true becomes true to some extent in the context of that art. Our question is, how far can this be pushed?” explains Fuhr.

With their new record ‘Ten Seated Figures’ (released on April 19th via DevilDuck Records), Yes We Mystic have succeeded in exceeding their previous excesses, creating something bigger than anything they’ve done before. Voices and instruments blend together in a swathe of sound so dense and so complex that its origin can’t be placed.

‘Ten Seated Figures’ is produced by the band’s own Adam Fuhr, engineered by John Paul Peters (Tanya Tagaq, Royal Canoe, Begonia) and mixed by Marcus Paquin (The National, Arcade Fire), with musical nods as diverse as J Cole, Katy Perry, and The Weakerthans.

Praised as “art pop transformers”, and charged with a “fearless creative energy”, Yes We Mystic has become a steadily growing force on the Canadian indie scene since their formation in Winnipeg in 2011. The band matured into this sound with the release of their 2016 debut album ‘Forgiver’, recorded with legendary Canadian producer Jace Lasek (Patrick Watson, Wolf Parade). The album was met with acclaim in both Germany (where the album was released on DanCan records) and Canada.

To support Forgiver, they played over 100 shows in 10 countries, appearing at NXNE, SXSW, The Great Escape, Reeperbahn, and Orange Blossom Special (a career highlight in itself). The success of their 1st album led to their recent signing to DevilDuck Records Worldwide.

‘Young Evil’ is out now.

Catch Yes We Mystic live in May:

12.05 – Exeter – Studio 1, The Phoenix
14.05 – Manchester, Gullivers
15.05 – Leeds, The Lending Rooms
16.05 – Wrexham, Focus Wales, Ty Pawb
18.05 – Wrexham, Focus Wales, Undegun
20.05 – Bristol, Crofters Rights
21.05 – London, Thousand Island