Electronic duo Röyksopp will be releasing ‘Running to the Sea’ on December 16th 2013 – their first new single since 2011, which is now set for worldwide release following its no.1 chart success in their native Norway. The new track also features vocals from the platinum-selling Norwegian artist Susanne Sundfør.

The elegant b-side ‘Something in My Heart’ feature vocals from Jamie McDermott of cult orchestral pop ensemble The Irrepressibles.

Running To The Sea’ and ‘Something In My Heart’ are in essence both expressions of compulsion and its strong, often uncontrollable, persisting pull”, explain the duo. “Dependence is a returning theme in our music”, they add.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/118554093″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland AKA Brit and Grammy award nominees Röyksopp have produced four massive hit albums, which have reached the top of the charts in several countries, including four consecutive number-ones in Norway. The band has sold over two million records and gained three entries in the Pitchfork list of top 500 tracks from the last decade.

Röyksopp have remixed the likes of Lady Gaga, Depeche Mode, Beck and Kings of Leon, as well as written music for some of the most exiting female vocalists from Scandinavia, like Robyn, Lykke Li and Karin Dreijer-Andersson (Fever Ray / The Knife).

Last year the duo released their edition of the acclaimed ‘Late Night Tales’ compilation series, which showcased their diverse influences and impeccable taste, with tracks from Tuxedomoon, Vangelis, John Martyn, This Mortal Coil  and Popol Vuh, not to mention a spoken word piece by Benedict Cumberbatch of ‘Sherlock Holmes’ and Hollywood movie fame.

Running To The Sea’ will be released on Royksopp’s label Dog Triumph, via Wall of Sound and Cooking Vinyl in the UK.


Stay up to date with all the latest music news, gossip, and reviews from GIGsoup by following us on Twitter and Facebook

Facebook Comments