Johnny Flynn announces upcoming album, ‘Sillion’

Folk-rocker Johnny Flynn has announced plans for a fifth album, ‘Sillion’, to be released on 24th March, along with a new single, ‘Raising the Dead’.

The singer-songwriter, who fronts the indie-folk act Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit announced the album over the weekend, releasing the tracklist and announcing UK tour dates to coincide with the release.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Discussing the autobiographical nature of ‘Raising the Dead’ Flynn said:

My Dad died when I was 18, and that was quite a galvanising experience and there’s often an element of that in anything Im writing; every big loss that you suffer in life, I think everything comes through the conduit of that. I had a really strong sense of my daughter having elements of my Dad when she came along, and it made me kind of laugh – that cyclical sense, of thinking of my daughter as my Dad.

Flynn was born in Johannesburg to a musical family which includes half brother Jerome Flynn, one half of the pop duo Robson and Jerome. A classically trained actor, Flynn has performed at the Globe theatre and the Royal Court, as well as in Netflix serial rom-com Scrotal Recall. He released his first album, ‘A Larum’ in 2008.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

The tracklist for ‘Sillion’.

1. Raising the Dead
2. Wandering Aengus
3. Heart Sunk Hank
4. Barleycorn
5. The Night my Piano Upped and Died
6. In the Deepest
7. In Your Pockets
8. Jeffersons Torch
9. Tarp in the Prop
10. The Landlord
11. Hard Road

Flynn will play the following tour dates in March:

24 Brighton St George’s Church
25 Leeds Church
26 Manchester Gorilla
27 Edinburgh Caves
28 Birmingham O2 Academy 2
29 Bristol Trinity
31 London St John’s Hackney