Hey Colossus announce new album 'The Guillotine', share track ‘Experts Toll’

Hey Colossus announce new album ‘The Guillotine’, share track ‘Experts Toll’

Psychedelic doom-rockers Hey Colossus have announced a new album, ‘The Guillotine’. Set for release on June 2nd via Rocket Recordings, the album is the latest in a long and unwieldy discography stretching back well over a decade. Following up from the UK group’s studio album releases ‘In Black and Gold’ and ‘Radio Static High’ in 2015, the new LP also comes in the wake of last year’s retrospective compilation ‘Dedicated to Uri Klangers’.

While as dark and menacing as ever in new track ‘Experts Toll’, some melodic undertones cut through the heavy amplification and brooding atmosphere. Paul Sykes’ sometimes guttural vocals are toned down, and more focus brought to guitar interplay as the band create a hypnotic soundscape which finally crashes down into a metal riff so heavy it’ll knock the listener’s head off.

The release page explains: “Here the six-piece find themselves transcending the limitations of the underground scene from whence they came, whilst exposing the paucity of inspiration in much of the guitar-rock mainstream. Hey Colossus are at their sharpest, and none will survive ‘The Guillotine’.”

‘The Guillotine’ tracklisting:

  1. Honest To God
  2. Back In The Room
  3. Calenture Boy
  4. Experts Toll
  5. Potions
  6. Englishman
  7. In A Collision
  8. The Guillotine

The six-piece have also announced a string of tour dates:

April 1st – Liverpool, Threshold Festival

May 4th – Brighton, Prince Albert

May 5th – Cardiff, Full Moon

May 6th – Bristol, Old England

May 11th – Nottingham, The Maze

May 12th – Glasgow, Nice and Sleazy

May 13th – Manchester, Soup Kitchen

May 17th – London, 100 Club

July 8th – Bristol, Psych Fest

August 25/26th – Seachange Festival, Totnes, Devon

Hey Colossus announce new album 'The Guillotine', share track ‘Experts Toll’