HEATHER WOODS BRODERICK shares new video and single “White Tail”

Sharon Van Etten & former Efterklang bandmate shares stunning new single & video

Photo credit: Whit Hassett

Oregon-based musician Heather Woods Broderick has shared a new single and video “White Tail”, taken from her upcoming album ‘Invitation’ out April 19th via Western Vinyl. The new track is the next single to follow “Where I Lay,” and is released with the first in a two part series of music videos made through a collaborative exchange of concept and footage shared between filmmakers Tracy Maurice and Devin Febbroriello. Part One sets the stage and leaves the viewer pondering how this timeless dream world will develop into Part Two.

In the video for “White Tail,” Heather lies beneath the full moon and a surreal, layered dream world unfolds where unusual storm clouds shape-shift over mountain tops and sand and soap bubbles form strange planes of existence. This surreal, atmospheric video was created using mostly analog special effects techniques; a cloud tank, a ripple machine, and experimentation with the movement of water, sand, and soap bubbles using a macro lens and a microscope. As the lyrics in White Tail suggest, “surrender to sleepless shifting… and let the full moon envelop you.”

The title of the third album by Heather Woods Broderick, ‘Invitation’, takes its name from a quote by Thomas Moore which she stumbled upon while sifting through the cathartic journal entries of her own mother:
To keep the unfolding self alive, you have to open yourself to change every step of the way. Of course there are times when it is appropriate to step back, settle down, and maybe not move for a while. But to be a person means to be faced every minute with the decision to live OR die; To accept the invitations for yet more vitality or to decline them out of fear or lethargy.”

‘Invitation’ was conceived on the Oregon coast, an outlier among American landscapes, where vast stretches of empty beach are decorated with silver driftwood and towering pines. It is here among the dunes, tide pools and colossal rock formations that Heather spent her childhood summer day-trips. And it is here that she returned as an adult to construct her newest LP, an album of dreamy baroque-pop that swells and whispers with grand string arrangements, intimately descriptive lyrics, and impassioned songcraft built around earnest piano melodies, painting a lifelike picture of the locale in which it was written.

In the years between her early youth and the creation of ‘Invitation’, Heather has played in Efterklang, Horse Feathers, the live bands of Laura Gibson, Lisa Hannigan, and Damien Jurado, and has also been a longtime collaborator and bandmate to Sharon Van Etten. But while this list may seem enviable for an aspiring young musician, any experienced player will know that the life of a touring musician comes with its own sacrifices. Lasting relationships and financial certainty can be tenuous, as can mental stability itself. Feeling this firsthand, Heather traded her usual launchpad of Brooklyn for the sleepy town of Pacific City where she would quietly take a job cleaning houses for a cast of local eccentrics, sitting down at the piano in the off-hours to unpack the personal tragedies and triumphs of the intervening decades since her first trips there.

All throughout ‘Invitation’, floral tendrils of sound design and dynamic strings decorate the edges of each track, propelling the album beyond mere singer-songwriter fare into something altogether more grand and immersive in scope. And somehow still, the album maintains a humble quality throughout. It’s not about the epic and beautiful physical features of the Pacific northwest seaside that first stirred Heather Woods Broderick as a child. It’s about how the stillness of such settings can unearth the disquiet often buried by the infinite distractions of a life without pause.

‘Invitation’ track list:

  1. A Stilling Wind
  2. I Try
  3. Nightcrawler
  4. Where I Lay (Youtube) (Soundcloud)
  5. Slow Dazzle
  6. A Daydream
  7. White Tail (Youtube)
  8. Quicksand
  9. My Sunny One
  10. These Green Valleys
  11. Invitation