HATCHIE rounds off 2019 with new video for “Her Own Heart”

Debut album ‘Keepsake’ out now on Heavenly

Brisbane’s Hatchie rounds off an incredibly successful 2019 with a suitably wistful video to accompany the delicate shoegaze-pop of “Her Own Heart”.

Released in June via Heavenly recordings, debut album ‘Keepsake’ saw Harriette Pilbeam deliver a kaleidoscopic sonic palette, drawing out distinct moods and tones, revealing her depth and imagination as a musician and songwriter. The record serves as a document of a particularly kinetic moment in her life.

“Stay true to your heart and don’t look back” she urges on one of the album’s more ethereal moments, “Her Own Heart” – a song about self-belief and self-acceptance.

“With this being the final video from my album, I wanted to close the year with something natural and stripped back in comparison to the studio sets and intense lighting we’d worked with for earlier releases” explains Pilbeam. “Her Own Heart is about moving forward and being happy with yourself, so we thought the video should just be me, happy and alone.”

Hatchie and her band kicked off 2019 supporting The Vaccines on tour across the UK and have barely let their feet touch the ground since. They’ve played shows across the world including headline tours in Europe, North America and Australia, and dates with bands such as Japanese Breakfast, Alvvays and Girlpool. Now, as the year comes to a close, and with various prestigious award nominations back home in Australia, they wind down for the year and prepare for the next chapter in 2020.

‘Keepsake’ is out now via Heavenly – streaming and buy links here: http://smarturl.it/keepsake

‘Keepsake’ tracklist:

  1. Not That Kind
  2. Without A Blush
  3. Her Own Heart
  4. Obsessed
  5. Unwanted Guest
  6. Secret
  7. Kiss The Stars
  8. Stay With Me
  9. When I Get Out
  10. Keep
Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!