Feist announces new album ‘Pleasure’

Feist have confirmed the release of her fifth album, ‘Pleasure’. The follow-up to  2011’s Polaris Prize-winning ‘Metals’ is out April 28 via Universal. It was produced by Feist with Mocky and Renaud Letang, who have both collaborated with her in the past. In recent years, Feist has been relatively silent, but appeared on Peaches‘ 2015 album and has worked with the Muppets and Timber Timbre.

Surprised to find details about the album leaked, the singer-songwriter made the announcement official by tweeting out the cover artwork. This was followed by a series of tweets discussing the making of the album and the meaning of its title. 

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

She wrote: “So here’s what I can tell you. I made this record last winter with 2 of my closest friends, Mocky and Renaud LeTang. I was raw and so were the takes. Our desire was to record that state without guile or go-to’s and to pin the songs down with conviction and our straight up human bodies.”

“I titled the album Pleasure like I was planting a seed or prophecising some brightness,” she explains. “The experience of pleasure is mild or deep, sometimes temporal, sometimes a sort of low grade lasting, usually a motivator. If the way you look at things is how they look then my motivation is to look with a brighter eye.”

So there it is, in a nutshell. I’m grateful for your curiosity, the music is en route. Best and soon, Leslie,” she concluded.

Feist will be featured on the forthcoming Broken Social Scene album and is set to perform at several upcoming festivals, including Field Trip Music Festival this June and Winnipeg Folk Festival in July.

The full track-listing is as follows…

01 Pleasure
02 I Wish I Didn’t Miss You
03 Get Not High, Get Not Low
04 Lost Dreams
05 Any Party
06 A Man Is Not His Song
07 The Wind
08 Century
09 Baby Be Simple
10 I’m Not Running Away
11 Young Up