Obaro Ejimiwe, better known as Ghostpoet, has kept a steady stream of music releases over time, sharing some good tunes every two years. The latest masterpiece? It’s ‘Trouble + Me’.

The moody drumbeats and clean basslines work together to create a steady and cinematic groove on this track. The background vocals add a haunting element as well, thus evoking the nostalgic and gloomy charm that is similar (but not limited) to Bon Iver‘s earlier work. The track sums up the feelings of dread and unease perfectly and yet, somehow, manage to harbour some aspects of uncertain curiousity and enticement.

‘Trouble + Me’ is tastefully done and will feature on Ghostpoet’s forthcoming, poetically titled album, ‘Dark Days & Canapes’, which will be out on 18th August.

The new track follows the provocative ‘Immigrant Boogie’, both tracks marking a progression towards more guitar led material for this record. ‘Immigrant Boogie’ actually features guest guitar work from Leo Abrahams (Wild Beasts, Frightened Rabbit).

Both these tracks will be featured with ten more new songs on ‘Dark Days & Canapes’ and give and idea of as to what can be expected from the new album. See the tracklist below:

01. One More Sip
02. Many Moods at Midnight
03. Trouble + Me
04. (We’re) Dominoes
05. Freakshow
06. Dopamine If I Do
07. Live>Leave
08. Karoshi
09. Blind As A Bat…
10. Immigrant Boogie
11. Woe Is Meee
12. End Times

‘Dark Days & Canapes’ will be out 18th August via Play It Again Sam

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!