Depeche Mode have shared ‘Where’s The Revolution’, a new single from their upcoming album ‘Spirit’. It is their first release since 2013’s ‘Delta Machine’. The track, which is produced by Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford, features synths not too unlike their previous effort, but the heavier atmosphere recalls their classic album ‘Violator’. Lyrically, it evokes a sense of political urgency: “Where’s the revolution?” Graham asks, “Come on people, you’re letting me down.”

While discussing the new album with Rolling Stone, frontman David Gahan talked about the influence of the US election:

“We’re living in a time of real change. As I get older, the things going on in the world affect me more. I think about my kids and what they’re growing up into. My daughter, Rosie, was deeply affected by the election last year. … She just sobbed, and I was like, ‘Wow.’ Martin [Gore] and I both live in America, so we’re both very affected by what goes on. Martin said to me, ‘I know to some people, this will come off as rich rock stars living in their big houses in Santa Barbara with not a care in the world, and it’s true that we’re very fortunate. But that doesn’t mean you stop caring about what’s going on in the world. It’s really affecting me.’ And I said, ‘I understand. I feel the same’.”

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

But Grahan also said that he wouldn’t call the new album political. I don’t listen to music in a political way. But it’s definitely about humanity, and our place in that,” he explains. 

The singer also opened about how David Bowie’s death influenced him. “My daughter came out and they were both hugging me. It really affected me. I felt a huge gap. One of the things I was most regrettable about was that I had never really gone up to him at any time I’d seen him in passing and said, ‘You know, David, I bump into you every once in a while, but I’ve never told you how much your music has meant to me and continues to mean to me.’” The band played a special concert at New York City’s High Line public park to pay tribute to the late singer-songwriter. The performance, which was filmed, included several songs from ‘Spirit’ as well as a moving rendition of Bowie’s ‘Heroes’.  “I was so moved, I barely held it together, to be honest,” Gahan says.

‘Spirit’, the band’s 14th full-length effort, will be released on March 17 via Columbia.

‘Spirit’  Deluxe Edition Tracklisting:

Disc 1
01. Going Backwards
02. Where’s the Revolution
03. The Worst Crime
04. Scum
05. You Move
06. Cover Me
07. Eternal
08. Poison Heart
09. So Much Love
10. Poorman
11. No More (This is the Last Time)
12. Fail

Disc 2 – Jungle Spirit Mixes
01. Cover Me (Alt Out)
02. Scum (Frenetic Mix)
03. Poison Heart (Tripped Mix)
04. Fail (Cinematic Cut)
05. So Much Love (Machine Mix)

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!