Dear Reader - We Followed Every Sound
Dear Reader - We Followed Every Sound

Dear Reader ‘We Followed Every Sound’ – the LP explained

In anticipation of her forthcoming live album, ‘We Followed Every Sound’, Dear Reader aka Cheri MacNeil, has unveiled a beautiful new live video for track ‘Back From The Dead’, which was recorded with the German Film Orchestra. The LP will be released on December 9th 2014 through City Slang

Earlier this year, Dear Reader made a bold move by releasing ‘Rivonia‘. Unlike your average LP, it was an album of stories, histories and anecdotes that were all inspired by, and dealing with, the country she was born and raised in – South Africa. The album was critically acclaimed and showcased Cheri’s ability to tell a great story within the framework of intelligent and witty pop songs. The imagery and pictures her exuberant storytelling evoked were rich and vivid, despite the often-bleak realities depicted.

[soundcloud url=”″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

When Potsdam-based radio station Radio Eins offered the artist the opportunity to perform the songs of ‘Rivonia‘, with the added dramatic texture of an entire symphonic orchestra, the artist accepted.

The result is ‘We Followed Every Sound‘, an album which sees the songs of ‘Rivonia’ taken to new levels of dramatic and dynamic thrill. Under the careful guidance of conductor Bernd Wefelmayer and his orchestra, and by way of the creative orchestra arrangements of dramaturge Max Knoth, the songs in question, already magical in their own right climb to new heights of scintillating warmth and intensity.

The vocal performances of the band members on this recording, Cherilyn MacNeil, Emma Greenfield, Caoimhe McAlister and Sam Vance-Law are impeccable, and the entire Dear Reader band plays with the verve and confidence of a well-oiled machine.

At times troubling and at times deeply moving, the music of Dear Reader is a collection of magical, dramatic, heartfelt songs.

The track-listing for this release is as follows…

1. Back From the Dead

2. Cruelty on Beauty on

3. Dearheart

4. Down Under, Mining

5. From Now On

6. Good Hope

7. Great White Bear

8. Man

9. Man of the Book

10. Teller of Truths

11. Took Them Away

12. Whale (boohoo)


Stay up to date with all the latest music news, gossip, and reviews from GIGsoup by following us on Twitter and Facebook