Chicago’s Protovulcan Bring the Post-Rock with “The Force Remains The Same”

Photo Credit: Dan Jarvis

Post-industrial Chicago trio Protovulcan just dropped a whale of a new tune. “The Force Remains The Same” comes from the EP Life Is Twigs (recorded by Steve Albini), releasing the 25th of January. The band is releasing two EPs that day. The 2nd, Psychic Pinball, features guest spots from Tortoise’s Dan Bitney as well as the legendary Malcolm Cecil.

Protovulcan is fronted by vocalist/keyboardist Will MacLean. Guitarist Nick Ammerman and drummer Deric Criss (who’s worked with MacLean on many musical projects) round out the group. After MacLean‘s stint in Variety Lights, with Mercury Rev veteran David Baker, and Criss’s own duo Aleks and the Drummer, the two bonded again in the first version of Protovulcan and began recording and playing at a rapid pace.

The band only has one live date on their schedule (Jan 10 in Chicago, IL). Maybe the new year will add more dates for the US and UK.