Botany - Lava Diviner
Botany - Lava Diviner

Botany announces “Lava Diviner” LP details and shares new track

In anticipation of his forthcoming album “Lava Diviner (Truestory)”, which is set for release on 29th October 2013, through Western Vinyl, Texan beat-maker Botany has unveiled album standout track “Quatic”.

[soundcloud url=”″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Botany, otherwise known as Spencer Stephenson said of “Lava Diviner” …

“On Lava Diviner, I wanted to conjure that same headspace that artists like Roger Dean, and even Zdzislaw Beksinski project in their iconic paintings,” says Stephenson. “I tried to evoke those grand, colorful, surreal landscapes that are mind-bending yet oddly comforting – sci-fi and epic and holy, all at the same time.”

Following 2010’s quietly applauded “Feeling Today” EP, “Lava Diviner (Truestory)” was created at various Texas locations using a jumble of equipment, from aging desktop computers, samplers, guitars, bells, flutes, tape recorders, turntables, violin playing room-mates and much more besides. Guest vocals from Brainfeeder artist RYAT were added to the mix and the final creation was mastered by Matthew David (Leaving Records / Stones Throw).

The full track-listing for “Lava Diviner” is as follows…

  1. Comm
  2. Anchor
  3. Owa
  4. Per-Eon
  5. Simple Creatures (featuring RYAT)
  6. Cant / Goosemother
  7. Quatic
  8. Small Keys
  9. Lava Diviner
  10. Celeste
  11. Sunna / Show Me
  12. Birdlife


Stay up to date with all the latest music news, gossip, and reviews from GIGsoup by following us on Twitter and Facebook