Animal Collective have announced a new companion piece to their 2016 album ‘Painting With’.  The four track EP, entitled ‘The Painters,’ is set to feature three previously unreleased songs recorded during the sessions for ‘Painting With’.

The EP will also feature a cover of  Martha and the Vandellas’s ‘Jimmy Mack’.  Despite only just being announced, the EP is set to release digitally on Friday 17th, with a physical vinyl/CD release following May 5th, all via Domino Records.

The band have shared a song from the EP, titled ‘Kinda Bonkers’.  The clue’s in the name with this one – it’s a typically off the wall, zany number from a band that seems have a violent hated of normality.

The Painters EP tracklist:

1 Kinda Bonkers
2 Peacemaker
3 Goalkeeper
4 Jimmy Mack

Tour dates:

05/17 Charleston, SC – Music Farm
05/18 Knoxville, TN – The Mill & Mine
05/20 Charlottesville, VA – The Jefferson Theater
05/22 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
05/23 Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Steel
05/24 Northampton, MA – Calvin Theatre
05/26 New Haven, CT – College Street Music Hall
05/27 Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre
05/28 Toronto, ON – The Danforth Music Hall

Animal Collective announce new EP 'The Painters'

Facebook Comments