King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard to headline Green Man

Australian psychedelic rockers King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard will headline the Green Man festival’s opening night on Friday 17 August. Green Man says this represents the band’s first festival headline slot and their only UK appearance so far announced for 2018.

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard are part of the second wave of acts revealed by Green Man. Welsh post-punk singer-guitarist Cate Le Bon returns to Green Man following her appearance in 2016, along with Anna Calvi, who performed at the festival in 2015. 

Techno maestros Simian Mobile Disco will appear with Green Man favourites Deep Throat Choir, Hackney’s all-singing, all-female ensemble. Floating Points add to the festival’s dance element. Scandinavian star Susanne Sundfor, Australia’s Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and Wye Oak from Baltimore are among the large non-UK contingent at the festival, which keeps to its internationalist traditions.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Welsh performers in the second wave of acts to be announced include Kelly Lee Owens and Sweet Baboo. Green Man stalwarts from Scotland, Pictish Trail, will be back in 2018. And London’s hotly-tipped glam-punk extroverts HMLTD make Green Man one of just five summer festivals they have so far signed up for.

Green Man takes place on 16-19 August at a rural venue set against the backdrop of the Black Mountains in the Brecon Beacons of Wales. As well as the music stages, it hosts a beer and cider festival, children’s entertainment, a cinema, a science and discovery area, and a comedy and literature tent. Green Man will reveal its comedy and literature line up on 21 March.

The second wave of Green Man acts consists of:
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, Anna Calvi, Cate Le Bon, Floating Points featuring Deep Throat Choir, The Black Angels, John Maus, Joan As Police Woman, Tamikrest, Susanne Sundfor, Simian Mobile Disco, Wye Oak, Alex Cameron, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Kelly Lee Owens, Chastity Belt, HMLTD, Sweet Baboo, A Hawk and a Hacksaw, Lost Horizons, Pictish Trail, Lucy Dacus, The KVB, Snapped Ankles, Snail Mail, Nubya Garcia, Ed Dowie, Bas Jan, Sacred Paws, The Murlocs, Spinning Coin, Group Listening, Fenne Lily, Adwaith, Accu, Sock, and Aadae.

The initial line-up was as follows:
The War On Drugs, Fleet Foxes, John Grant, Grizzly Bear, Public Service Broadcasting, Dirty Projectors, Mount Kimbie, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Lemon Twigs, Kevin Morby, John Talabot, Baxter Dury, Teleman, Phoebe Bridgers, Courtney Marie Andrews, Curtis Harding, Jane Weaver, Beak>, Goat Girl, Bo Ningen, Xylouris White, Marlon Williams, Shannon Lay, Omni, Duds, Charles Watson, Boy Azooga, Ider, Jade Bird, Seamus Fogarty, Juanita Stein, Haley Heynderickx, Jim Ghedi, Sorry, Stella Donnelly, and Haze.