Frank Turner Announces New Solo Album

Frank Turner has announced details of his brand new album, ‘No Man’s Land’. The album is due for release on August 16th via Xtra Mile Recordings/Polydor Records and will be his eighth studio album as well as his first without backing band, The Sleeping Souls since 2008’s “Love, Ire & Song”.

Working with a litany of female musicians as well as the 2018, Producer of the Year, Catherine Marks, the album is dedicated to telling the captivating stories of women whose incredible contributions and lives have often been overlooked in the annals of history.

Accompanying the release of the album is a 13 part podcast series in which Turner (a long with special guests) dives deeper into these stories and gives a more comprehensive look into their history. The first episode was released July 3rd and others will follow on a weekly basis.

The lead single from the album ‘Sister Rosetta’ is available to listen now and recounts the story of Sister Rosetta Thorpe, a female African-American musician, who was born in the early 20th century and became one of the most influential musicians in American history.

Listen to the new single below:

The first podcast episode detailing Sister Rosetta Thorpe’s life is also available, check it out below:

To give you a preview of what’s to come, check out the full track listing for the album below:

1. Jinny Bingham’s Ghost
2. Sister Rosetta
3. I Believed You, William Blake
4. Nica
5. A Perfect Wife
6. Silent Key
7. Eye of the Day
8. The Death of Dora Hand
9. The Graveyard of the Outcast Dead
10. The Lioness
11. The Hymn of Kassiani
12. Rescue Annie
13. Rosemary Jane

Click on the following link to pre-order – ‘No Man’s Land

‘No Man’s Land’ – Released August 16th via Xtra Mile Recordings/Polydor Records