Those familiar with Can’s unique brand of vivid avant-garde rock may not readily associate the band with hit singles. That, in all fairness, is likely to be because they didn’t have many; it is surprising, though, just how many singles the experimental rock legends did release. Many fan-favourite tracks found their way onto 7″ in often unique edits, alternate versions and as other general oddities – and up until now there’s never been a convenient way to listen to all of these bite-sized Can nuggets.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

That’s about to change, though, as Mute Records have announced a new career-spanning anthology designed to collect together all of the band’s singles. Starting off with the moody atmosphere of 1969’s ‘Soul Desert’ and going all the way through to 1989’s ‘Hoolah Hoolah’, the compilation not only offers a pretty thorough overlook of the band’s output but also represents something of more interest to long term fans other than a simple best-of. The compilation will be released on both double CD and triple vinyl on 16th June.

1 Soul Desert
2 She Brings The Rain
3 Spoon
4 Shikako Maru Ten
5 Turtles Have Short Legs
6 Halleluwah (Edit)
7 Vitamin C
8 I’m So Green
9 Mushroom
10 Moonshake
11 Future Days (Edit)
12 Dizzy Dizzy (Edit)
13 Splash (Edit)
14 Hunters And Collectors (Edit)
15 Vernal Equinox (Edit)
16 I Want More
17 …And More
18 Silent Night
19 Cascade Waltz
20 Don’t Say No (Edit)
21 Return
22 Can Can
23 Hoolah Hoolah (Edit)

Facebook Comments