Arlo McKinley announces new album and ‘Die Midwestern’ Single

Arlo McKinley will release his new album ‘Die Midwestern’ on August 14th via John Prines ‘Oh boy Records’ Taken from that album, he has just released a video for the album title track which you can watch below

“Die Midwestern,” a song about McKinley’s hometown, premiered today with The Fader who stated, “McKinley’s voice is a headline event, rousing when the band rises but gnarled and vulnerable on its many more sonically subdued moments.”

DIscussing the song McKinley states, “This song is similar to ‘Walking Shoes’ but putting all the blame on geography. The Midwest is full of drugs that end up controlling people. It’s about my love/hate relationship with Ohio. I love it because it’s everything that I am but I hate it because I’ve seen it take my loved ones lives, I’ve seen it make hopeful people hopeless. Temptations run all along the Ohio river, but it’s so hard to watch the Ohio fade in the rearview mirror.”

The video follows McKinley in his hometown of Cincinnati which gives a glimpse into the environment that became the muse and inspiration for numerous songs on this remarkable record. Watch the accompanying video here.

McKinley almost missed his big break, which came when he was offered an opening slot for Tyler Childers. His now manager was trying to reach him to offer him an opening slot and Arlo initially dodged the persistent unknown caller. Since, McKinley has been humbly sharing stages with kindred musical spirits John Moreland, Jason Isbell, Justin Townes Earle.

Die Midwestern was recorded at Memphis’ legendary Sam Phillips Recording Service and was produced by GRAMMY award-winning Matt Ross-Spang along with an all-star Memphis band of Ken Coomer, David Smith, Will Sexton, Rick Steff, Jessie Munson and Reba Russell.

McKinley recorded ten remarkable songs – some dating back fifteen years – all penned with a weight, honesty and gritty-hope that comes from living in Cincinnati, the rustbelt city where his songs were born.

‘Die Midwestern’ Tracklist

We Were Alright
Die Midwestern
She’s Always Around
Bag of Pills
The Hurtin’s Done
Suicidal Saturday Night
Once Again
Whatever You Want
Gone For Good
Walking Shoes

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox