Wire announce new LP 'Silver/Lead', share new single

Wire announce new LP ‘Silver/Lead’, share new single

Post-punk legends Wire have announced a new record, to be released on 31st March.  ‘Silver/Lead’ is the group’s third album since 2015 and their sixth since 2010.  As with their all their work for the past 15 years or so, the album is set to be released on the group’s own Pinkflag label.

Wire are famed for their influential early records, including their 1977 debut ‘Pink Flag’ and 1979’s ‘154’.  The band have influenced countless acts, from the mega-selling titans including R.E.M. and Manic Street Preachers, through to cult acts such as Big Black and Minor Threat.

‘Silver/Lead’s’ press release says the album is “about as far from nostalgia as you [can] get.  This is the sound of a uniquely addictive 21st century psychedelic post-punk.” Listen to ‘Silver/Lead’s’ lead single, ‘Short Elevated Period’, below.  It’s a bright, melodic track that sees the band go in a tightly constructed, poppy direction.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/302131861″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Wire, ‘Silver/Lead’ Track Listing…

1. “Playing Harp for the Fishes”
2. “Short Elevated Period”
3. “Diamonds in Cups”
4. “Forever & a Day”
5. “An Alibi”
6. “Sonic Lens”
7. “This Time”
8. “Brio”
9. “Sleep on the Wing”
10. “Silver/Lead”