Katie Crutchfield has announced her follow-up to 2015’s brilliant ‘Ivy Tripp’. After revisiting her original project P.S. Elliot with her twin sister, Allison Crutchfield, and putting out a record of early recordings, the singer-songwriter is ready to focus on her solo endeavour by releasing her fourth full-length album as Waxahatchee titled ‘Out in the Storm’  on July 14th via Merge Records.

The album will feature 10 songs, samples of which are all available on the preorder page via Brooklyn Vegan. Katie Crutchfield was joined by Allison Crutchfield (keyboards and percussion), Katherine Simonetti (bass), and Ashley Arnwine (drums), as well as  guitarist Katie Harkin (Sleater-Kinney), and recorded the whole album live with the help of John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr., Sonic Youth). 

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

The Birmingham-native songwriter said of the new album in an interview with Lenny: 

“I don’t want to call it a break-up record, but it was a romantic and professional relationship that fell apart. I had to end it, and it rippled throughout every little corner of my life. Getting on the other side of that and reflecting on the whole spectrum of sadness and anger and resentment, I came out of it and I was a lot closer to myself […] It reminds me of how sometimes when you’re younger and a confident or outspoken woman and men — or boys — would make you the butt of a joke…I’m describing interactions with a specific person [who] had a tendency to make me feel this way.”

She also revealed that one of the songs that will be included on the album, ‘Sparks Fly’, is “one of my favorites that I’ve written ever, I think, lyrically — because it’s just really about me. Most of my songs are about relationships or about another person or how this other person is making me feel. And that song is just about how I feel about myself in a specific moment.”

Soon after announcing the album, Waxahatchee shared the first single, ‘Silver’, alongside a music video. Check it out below.

The singer-songwriter is currently on a U.S. tour supporting The New Pornographers. 

Out in the Storm Trackless…

01. Never Been Wrong
02. 8 Ball
03. Silver
04. Recite Remorse
05. Sparks Fly
06. Brass Beam
07. Hear You
08. A Little More
09. No Question
10. Fadehttps://www.gigsoupmusic.com

Facebook Comments

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!