Taking Back Sunday 'Tidal Wave' - ALBUM REVIEW

Taking Back Sunday to return with ‘Tidal Wave’ album

Taking Back Sunday have come a long way in the fourteen years since their 2002 debut Tell All Your Friends, but they aren’t going to be slowing down just yet. Just two years following the release of their sixth studio album Happiness Is, the Long Island punk-rockers are set to make a comeback this September with a brand new album.

Tidal Wave is due to be released via Hopeless Records on September 16th. Regarding the sound of the album, frontman Adam Lazzara seems determined to shake loose the shackles that bind Taking Back Sunday to the ’emo’ label, stating that, in his mind “every album anyone’s ever written is an emo album because there’s a lot of emotion that goes into all of that” and that he “wouldn’t consider [Tidal Wave] an emo record in the traditional sense of the word.” Instead, he has said that they drew inspiration from artists such as Tom Petty and Bryan Adams, giving the album some serious Americana vibes (despite the latter being Canadian). Material for the album is said to have been written between tours promoting Happiness Is, and was recorded in Michigan and Charlotte, North Carolina where Lazarra and guitarist John Nolan live.

Along with the announcement, the band has released the first single and accompanying video, which shares its name with the album. The song was premiered during a live show at the back end of 2015 and the band has been playing it as part of their set for the Taste of Chaos Tour, which kicked off in Chicago on June 3.

The tracklist for Tidal Wave looks as follows:

  1. Death Wolf
  2. Tidal Wave
  3. You Can’t Look Back
  4. Fences
  5. All Excess
  6. I Felt It Too
  7. Call Come Running
  8. Holy Water
  9. In The Middle Of It All
  10. We Don’t Go In There
  11. Homecoming
  12. I’ll Find A Way To Make It What You Want

This Taking Back Sunday article was written by Tyler Turner, a GIGsoup contributor

Taking Back Sunday to return with 'Tidal Wave' album