On April 28th 2014 Columbia Records presents ‘ATLAS’ – the debut album from Australian trio RÜFÜS
On April 28th 2014 Columbia Records presents ‘ATLAS’ – the debut album from Australian trio RÜFÜS

RÜFÜS are ready for a worldwide breakout. LP ‘ATLAS’ arrives April 28th 2014

Australian trio RÜFÜS are set to release their debut album ‘ATLAS’ on the 28th April 2014. The album was released last year in Australia and hit the number 1 spot. After a meteoric antipodean rise, their sophisticated blend of modern pop and house music is primed to similarly wow the UK.

ATLAS’ was recorded over an 11 month period on the coastline around Sydney. It was produced by the band, who split their time between two DIY studios, one a remote farmhouse on the NSW South Coast, the other a hollowed out water tank under one of their parent’s houses. The result is 11 tracks of romantic electronic pop with Balearic-style house.

Sydney-based Tyrone Lindqvist, James Hunt and Jon George started making music together and formed RÜFÜS back in 2010, just outside the small coastal town Byron Bay. Although the trio had very different upbringings they bonded over their teenage love of electronic music, avidly listening online to Radio 1 Essential Mixes, and tracks by the likes of Booka Shade, Trentemoller and The Chemical Brothers.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/131919353″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

On stage Tyrone takes lead vocal duties, plus guitar and keyboards, Jon sings BVs, plays keyboards plus percussion, whilst James drums. In the studio however, things are more fluid. “None of us are bound to any one instrument alone. We all write the melodies, bass lines, vocals, and lyrics and we all produce and mix together. Making choices and creative decisions flows. To be fair we have our differing opinions at times, but we always talk it through and end up with something we’re all satisfied with”, explains Tyrone.

The band released their debut EP on their own label Monekeleon a year after forming with two tracks reaching the top 10 in the Hype Machine charts simultaneously. With a growing fan base and mounting online presence, this was followed by another EP – ‘RÜFÜS Blue,’ two tracks of which were selected for coveted Kitsune compilations. With a top 5 in the ARIA dance charts their gathering momentum led to the band signing to Sweat It Out Records, run by the late DJ Ajax, before culminating in them inking a worldwide deal with Columbia. The band also spent time supporting the likes of Royksopp and Yuksek, and gracing festival stages at Big Day Out, Parklife and Homebake.

‘ATLAS’ is out on 28th April through Columbia Records and follows the release of ‘Desert Night,’ their debut single in the UK, which gained BBC Radio 1, 6Music and 1Xtra plays from Pete Tong (who made it his Essential Tune), Phil & Alice, Annie Mac  and Toddla T, plus John Kennedy on XFM.

RÜFÜS will be taking to the road for a headline tour of the US and Europe in spring. The full track-listing for ‘ATLAS’ is as follows…

1. Sundream
2. Take Me
3. Tonight
4. Modest Life
5. Rendezvous
6. Desert Night
7. Simplicity Of Bliss
8. Sarah
9. Unforgiven
10. Two Clocks
11. Imaginary Air


GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook