Virtuoso saxophonist Colin Stetson has announced his new album ‘All This I Do For Glory’ and released a video for the first single, Spindrift.

Stetson is set to continue with his independent and stripped down approach to music making, composing, recording and producing the album by himself.

A similar process was used on the ‘New History Warfare’ trilogy of albums where Stetson recorded all the tracks live without loops or overdubs; instead using circular breathing techniques and miking up different parts of his saxophone to capture different sounds, such as the percussive taps of the keys.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

The latest single, ‘Spindrift’, is a swirling, transcendent piece which was apparently influenced by electronic and ambient artists such as Aphex Twin and Autechre. The accompanying video shows off Stetson’s mastery of his instrument as the camera moves in on his constantly twitching fingers and strained expressions.

The full album is  set to be released on April 28th.


01. All This I Do For Glory
02. Like Wolves on the Fold
03. Between Water and Wind
04. Spindrift
05. In the Clinches
06. The Lure of the Mine

Lead Photo Credit : Daniel Cavazos Foto

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!