Motorhead’s under cover album will feature previously unreleased cover versions of songs from David Bowie, Ozzy, Metallica, Judas Priest, Sex Pistols and more.

The album will have Motörhead’s best cover versions and will be released later this year. The album will be called ‘Under Cover’ and will feature 11 tracks.

The David Bowie cover of ‘Heros’ was recorded during the bands 2015 studio sessions for what would turn out to be their final album ‘Bad Magic’. Speaking about their cover of Heroes, guitarist Phil Campbell said “It’s such a great Bowie song, one of his best, and I could only see great things coming out of it from us – and so it proved to be.

Drummer Mikkey Dee added “Lemmy ended up loving our version. He was very, very proud of it, not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun. Which is what projects like this should be!”

Frontman Lemmy died a few months after the album was released at the age of 70 and just days after being told he was suffering from an aggressive form of cancer.

To mark the announcement, a short trailer has been released which features Motorhead’s take on Sex Pistols’ God Save The Queen.

The full track-listing for ‘Under Cover’ is as follows…

Breaking The Law – Judas Priest (2008)
God Save The Queen – Sex Pistols (2000)
Heroes – David Bowie (2015)
Starstruck – Rainbow (2014)
Cat Scratch Fever – Ted Nugent (1992)
Jumpin’ Jack Flash – The Rolling Stones (2001)
Sympathy For The Devil – The Rolling Stones (2015)
Hellraiser – Ozzy Osbourne (1992)
Rockaway Beach – Ramones (2002)
Shoot ‘Em Down – Twisted Sister (2001)
Whiplash – Metallica (2005)


Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!