of Montreal to release album 13 ‘Aureate Gloom'
of Montreal to release album 13 ‘Aureate Gloom'

of Montreal to release album 13 ‘Aureate Gloom’, March 2nd

We’ve featured ‘of Montreal’ a number of times on the GIGsoup website and the office favourites have just announced a new LP which has lifted the early January gloom.

The 2nd March 2015 will see the release of album number 13 ‘Aureate Gloom’ (Polyvinyl Records). We’re told by Kevin Barnes that “A golden despondency” is the closest translation to the album’s title.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/184805307″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Like 2013’s ‘Lousy with Sylvianbriar’, ‘Aureate Gloom’ was recorded directly to tape with musicians Kevin Barnes (guitar, vocals), Clayton Rychlik (drums), Bob Parins (bass), Bennett Lewis (guitar), and JoJo Glidewell (keys), plus the help of engineer Drew Vandenberg.

Having already spent many of the previous months touring together, the strength of the members’ musical rapport was instantly apparent. The group completed nearly a song a day during their stay in the desert and even wrote a brand new track on the spot, ‘Apollyon of Blue Room,’ whose title references a supposedly haunted bedroom in a hacienda on the studio grounds.

The full track-listing for ‘Aureate Gloom’ is as follows…

Bassem Sabry

Last Rites at the Jane Hotel

Empyrean Abattoir

Aluminium Crown

Virgilian Lots

Monolithic Egress

Apollyon of Blue Room


Chthonian Dirge for Uruk the Other

Like Askoka’s Inferno of Memory

of Montreal

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook