Indie legends Maxïmo Park have announced a brand new studio album. ‘Risk to Exist’ will be the band’s sixth album and is set to be released on the 21st April. This will be their first LP release since 2014’s ‘Too Much Information’.

The band have also publicly unleashed the album’s title track; a resonating and lyrically profound number featuring backing vocals from Low’s Mimi Parker. The track is available now with the pre-order of the album.

Front-man Paul Smith describes the upcoming album as being ‘about empathy’, which he states ‘has been in short supply in certain quarters over the last few years’. He also says that the album will hold ‘soulful and groove-based’ influences.

‘Risk To Exist’ will be released on 21st April and is available for pre-order now.


1. What Did We Do To You To Deserve This?
2. Get High (No, I Don’t)
3. What Equals Love?
4. Risk To Exist
5. I’ll Be Around
6. Work And Then Wait
7. The Hero
8. The Reason I Am Here
9. Make What You Can
10. Respond To The Feeling
11. Alchemy

(Acoustic and piano versions for a few of the songs are also available as bonus tracks).

Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!