Alt-rock veteran Mark Lanegan has announced a new album, ‘Gargoyle’.  Arriving in stores on April 28th via Heavenly Recordings, the album is Lanegan’s 10th solo release, but that number swells greatly if you count his seemingly endless list of collaborations.   ‘Gargoyle’ features input from the likes of Josh Homme, Greg Dulli and Duke Garwood, all of whom have worked extensively with Lanegan in the past.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Lanegan has one of the most impressive CVs in music; with credits including a lengthy stint in Queens Of The Stone Age, taking the lead with ’90’s alt-rockers Screaming Trees and and a trio of albums with Isobel Campbell.

Although Lanegan is famed for a certain darkness in his music, he’s hinted that ‘Gargoyle’ might be a move in a more upbeat direction.  “I’m most proud of the songs that are atypical to stuff that I’ve done in the past.  I really like’Old Swan’, because it’s an expression of positivity, which is completely anti-anything I’ve done before!

Don’t be fooled into thinking the album’s too happy, though, because lead single ‘Nocturne’ still has a pleasingly dark, noir-ish atmosphere, held together by a relentless, industrial drum part and a Cure-esque atmosphere.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

‘Gargoyle’ tracklisting:

1. Death’s Head Tattoo
2. Nocturne
3. Blue Blue Sea
4. Beehive
5. Sister
6. Emperpor
7. Goodbye To Beauty
8. Drunk On Destruction
9. First Day Of Winter
10. Old Swan

Mark Lineman Gargoyle album

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!