Lowell announces sophomore album, shares lead single

Canadian indie-pop artist Lowell announced her sophomore album ‘Lone Wolf’ on Wednesday. While Lowell said via a Facebook post that the album would drop “next week,” the follow-up to 2014’s excellent (but largely overlooked) ‘We Loved Her Dearly‘ will be out on 6 April according to Arts & Crafts. The announcement comes as a surprise considering Lowell declared the LP was mastered last May before a social media silence.

Arts & Crafts describes the album as being full “of deeply personal songs that reflect on the power and influence of youth” and drawing “its inspiration from lyrics Lowell had written as a younger artist.” The feminist musician also gave listeners the first taste of new music by dropping the album’s lead single, ‘War Face’, a “relentless battle rhythm” that hints at the artist’s alternative pop growth, Recalling Elle King and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, ‘War Face’ maintains the raw emotion found throughout ‘We Loved Her Dearly’.

‘Lone Wolf’ is out 6 April via Arts & Crafts.

The full track list is as follows:

1. War Face
2. Bitter Rivals
3. Runaways
4. Lone Wolf
5. Vegas
6. No Talk
7. Bang Bang
8. Ghosts
9. Cut The Chord
10. Wintersleep

Lowell Lone Wolf


Want the latest music news, opinions and reviews?Subscribe to the GIGsoup newsletter today

Explore the latest music from the comfort of your own inbox

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!