Acclaimed singer-songwriter Laura Marling has announced the release date of her upcoming sixth album, ‘Semper Femina,’ as well as a number of UK tour dates supporting the LP.

‘Semper Femina’ will be the busy musician’s second album in as many years, following 2015’s ‘Short Movie.’ Sharing production duties is Blake Mills, whose work with Dawes, Alabama Shakes, Jim James and more in recent years has put him on the map as producer and session musician. 

Of the new album, Marling said in a press release, “I started out writing ‘Semper Femina’ as if a man was writing about a woman, and then I thought; ‘it’s not a man, it’s me.’ I don’t need to pretend it’s a man to justify the intimacy, or the way I’m looking and feeling about women. It’s me looking specifically at women and feeling great empathy towards them, and by proxy, towards myself.”

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

She went further, saying the album is aimed at “addressing questions of how society views sexuality and gender but without seeking to provide definitive answers.”

Accompanying the announcement was the first song and video from the album, the mystifying ‘Soothing.’ The video (Marling’s directorial debut) was based on dreams she had while working on the record in Los Angeles, and it shows in the evocative, sensual imagery. The song, meanwhile, is an aurally spacious meditation on the end of love, with Marling’s voice and words compelling from first note to last. 

Check out Marling’s upcoming tour dates below. ‘Semper Femina’ is out 10th March 2017 via More Alarming.

8 March – Leeds – O2 Academy

09 March – Bristol – Colston Hall

10 March – Glasgow – O2 ABC

12 March – Manchester – Albert Hall

13 March – Oxford – O2 Academy 

14 March – Birmingham – Institute 

16 March – Brighton – Dome

17 March – London – Roundhouse 

18 March – Salisbury – City Hall Laura Marling announces new album, UK tour dates

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!