Two rare David Bowie albums will be released on Record Store Day

Two rare David Bowie albums will be released on Record Store Day

David Bowie’s ‘Cracked Actor’ (Live In Los Angeles 1974)’ and ‘Bowpromo’ are being released to commemorate 10th annual Record Store Day, a worldwide gathering of independent record store owners who want to spread the their collective culture.                                                                          

‘Cracked Actor’ was recorded in September 1974 during the Philly Dogs Tour at the Universal Amphitheatre in Los Angeles and has never been officially released. Part of the recording was captured in the BBC documentary ‘Cracked Actor’, and features Luther Vandross on backing vocals.

[contentblock id=141 img=adsense.png]

Bowie’s longtime producer Tony Visconti took the original multi-track tapes and mixed them last autumn . They’re packaged across three LPs, with the sixth side featuring an etching of the Bowie logo from that period, combined with new artwork and rare photographs from the concert. Some of Bowie’s best-loved anthems are included in the album, including ‘Suffragette City’, ‘Changes’ and ‘Space Oddity’.

The second Bowie album, ‘Bowpromo’, is a 1971 promo album which contains alternate mixes of seven songs recorded during the sessions for ‘Hunky Dory’, including five additional exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes.

‘Cracked Actor’ and ‘Bowpromo’ are released in limited, vinyl-only quantities on Record Store Day which takes place on April 22.

Two rare David Bowie albums will be released on Record Store Day

‘Cracked Actor (Live In Los Angeles 1974)’ (3 LP set):

 Side 1:



‘Rebel Rebel’

‘Moonage Daydream’

‘Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing’ 

Side 2:


‘Suffragette City’

‘Aladdin Sane’

‘All The Young Dudes’

‘Cracked Actor’

Side 3:

‘Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me’

‘Knock On Wood’

‘It’s Gonna Be Me’

‘Space Oddity’ 

Side 4:

‘Diamond Dogs’

‘Big Brother’


Side 5:

‘The Jean Genie’

‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide’

‘John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)’

Side 6:

David Bowie logo etching

Recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles on 5th September 1974. Produced by David Bowie. Mixed in by Tony Visconti at Human Studios, NYC in October/November 2016.



‘Oh! You Pretty Things’ (3.18)

‘Eight Line Poem’ (2.59)

‘Kooks’ (3.01)

‘It Aint Easy’ (3.04)

‘Queen Bitch’ (3.21)

‘Quicksand’ (5.09)

‘Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro’ (3.39)

Produced by Ken Scott (assisted by The Actor), mixed by Ken Scott at Trident Studios, London.