Kendra Morris to play two London live dates
New album from New Yorks' Kendra Morris - 'Banshee'

Great voice, fantastic tunes and a new album. Life’s not too bad for Kendra Morris

Well i wasn’t expecting this on a gloomy day in London. On my desk one promo for a Miss Kendra Morris, and her new album ‘Banshee‘ (out today). Soul, blues riffs and a dribble of funk thrown in for good measure. Quite stunning.

This talented singer-songwriter from New York City  (originally from St. Petersburg) has managed to record a quite faultless album full of potential hits, while still maintaining an edge that ensures it doesn’t sound like a run-of-the-mill mainstream release. Tracks ‘Spitting Teeth‘ and ‘Concrete Waves‘ stand out on an album that seems to grow with each listen. Morris grew up imbued with a sense of musicality as Marvin GayeThe SpinnersStevie Wonder and Jackson 5 became favourites and elements of all of the above come through on ‘Banshee’.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_artwork=true” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Morris has built an inimitable reputation as a singer, songwriter and performer following collaborations with producers like Jeremy Page and receiving highly acknowledged prizes following her conscientious effort working on her crafts. She was acknowledged by ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) and the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2011. The institutions also awarded Morris the 2011 Holly Prize, which recognizes excellence in song writing, performing, and musicianship. In 2012, Morris toured with Motown Funk Brother Dennis Coffey and has received support from American DJ, producer and the other half of hip hop duo Gang Starr, DJ Premier, who remixed her first single ‘Concrete Waves’. It was also exclusively premiered on Huw Stephens, BBC Radio 1 show.

Possessing an unforgettable voice (and man it’s good), Morris’ new release ‘Banshee’, captures (we are told) the exact moments of Kendra’s feelings following a break up – she stated, “it’s just so much easier to put a feeling to a note”.

London-folk are also able to see this artist live in the next couple of weeks. Two dates have been listed and these are…

February 26th 2014 – Tooting Tram & Social, London

February 27th 2014 – Servant Jazz Quarters, London

Album track listing is as follows…

  1. Waiting
  2. Pow
  3. Spitting Teeth
  4. If You Didn’t Go
  5. Concrete Waves
  6. Right Now
  7. The Plunge
  8. Here
  9. Today
  10. Just One More
  11. Old Photos
  12. How You Want It
  13. Banshee
  14. Shine On Your Crazy Diamond

GIGsoup has all of the latest music news, album reviews, gig reviews and best new music – Follow us on Twitter and Facebook